LIZZY BORDEN posts recording update!

Here´s an update from the LIZZY BORDEN camp:

"2010 was an amazing year for LIZZY BORDEN touring in Europe, Japan and the States with our "Appointment with death show". The festivals and headline dates in every country were all very special to us in one way or another. This was all possible due to our very well received "Appointment With Death" record.

We created two epic video’s that aired on MTV (one of which was nominated for video of the year on headbangers ball) and a brand new stage show that proved to everyone that this was a new era for Lizzy Borden. The Appointment with death show and record took a giant leap forward into a whole new generation of fans all around the world. (Don't miss our year end summary video). We are now in the writing process for a new Lizzy Borden record as well as new video’s and a brand new stage show soon to follow.

Because we do not wish to repeat ourselves we are taking our time with this new release to make sure we create songs that inspire us for the visual medium as well as our usual audio mayhem. This new record is already heading in a more (individual) song oriented direction, and it is my hope that we end up with at least ten new songs that can stand on their own and will be the soundtrack for our new generation of Lizzy Borden fans, all the while satisfying our dedicated fans who have been with us from the beginning.

We learned so much from last year in what you want from us from switching songs in and out of the set based on reaction, all of that is starting to feed into the writing for the new record. At one point last year we had seven songs in the set from "appointment with death" and the only complaint we had was to play longer! It is our strong desire that we have that same problem for our upcoming release.

Because we want this new release to be very special and something very different than anything we have done before we are on the hunt to find the right producer that can understand the misunderstood. Finding that "right producer" may be the biggest task we have at hand. 

Having said all of the above, we can’t stay off the stage for too long or we will start to go studio-crazy, so you just may find us out and about playing shows in 2011 while we work on the new record, possibly here and there all over the world. Please check-in to our facebook fan page for upcoming shows and more recording updates throughout 2011.

We hope to see you all very soon!"

http://www.facebook.com/lizzybordenband
http://www.lizzyborden.com/
http://www.myspace.com/lizzybordenband 


BARN BURNER announces 'Bangers II: Scum of the Earth' and post first new song!

With the volume, technicality and intensity that embodies heavy metal and the overarching catchiness and longevity of stoner and classic rock, BARN BURNER capture a signature sound that cannot be easily placed or categorized. Cultivating the principles of partying and the everlasting might of the riff, BARN BURNER creates a live atmosphere that render an audience incapable of standing still. Whether it is giving your best friend a well-deserved swill of beer or lovingly smashing the bottle over his head to the sound of a ruthless riff, BARN BURNER will fulfill the demands of its listeners. Having finished their second record and follow up to the critically acclaimed Bangers, BARN BURNER are prepared to unleash something more fierce.


Roy khan verlaat Kamelot.

De fans van Kamelot hebben een bittere pil te slikken. De band heeft bekend gemaakt dat zanger Roy Khan de band verlaat. Er was al enige tijd sprake van onrust binnen de band. De kogel is nu door de kerk. Roy Khan was sinds 1998 zanger van Kamelot. Meer info volg snel.

 

 


ONSLAUGHT @ ESTRADO, HARDERWIJK

Damn, what a nice weather here in Holland! Together with the talented photographer Peter van Rijsbergen, we arrive early in Harderwijk for an interview with Onslaught. We get a warm welcome by the venue and band, and we get a nice cool drink, which is needed badly with this hot weather. The interview was an awesome moment in my career so far. The outcome will be published soon on www.livereviewer.com.

 



INTERVIEW WITH CHAD DAVIS FROM HOUR OF 13

With their latest release "The Ritualist", which is one of the better  Occult doomreleases from last year, I got the opportunity to do an interview with Chad Davis: Lead Guitarplayer from Occult heavy Metal band: Hour of 13. The outcome can be read below!


HammerFall headliner Dokk'em Open Air



PRIMORDIAL- REDEMPTION AT THE PURITAN'S HAND - METALBLADE RECORDS - RELEASE 26TH APRIL

Irish metalband Primordial has already delivered six amazing black Pagan albums. The two latest records gave a big stamp on this genre. With eager I was looking forward to their latest release: Redemption at the Puritan’s Hand

 

 

  • A.A. Nemtheanga (Vocals)
  • Ciáran MacUiliam (Guitars)
  • Michael O'Floinn (Guitars)
  • Pól MacAmlaigh (Bass)
  • Simon O'Laoghaire (Drums)

 



U.D.O - REV-RAPTOR- AFM RECORDS - RELEASE 20TH MAY

Yes there it is in my inbox. The latest release of old school heavy metal legends U.D.O.

Dirkschneider is a well know figure of the 80ties heavy metal. With their release Dominator, he came back with full power! Now he is back with Rev-n Raptor who will be released 20TH MAY

 

  • Udo DirkschneideR
  • Stefan Kaufmann
  •  Igor Gianola
  •  Fitty Wienhold
  •  Francesco Jovino 

 


AMON AMARTH - SURTUR RISING - METALBLADE RECORDS - OUT NOW

Amon Amarth is a swedish melodic (Folk)Death Metal band who stands out in delivering good albums with a specific regonizable sound! Their band name is named after “Mount Doom” from Tolkien’s masterpiece Lord of the Ring. For over 20 years now Amon Amarth stands for brutal epicness. Surtur Rising is their 8 fullenght.

  

 

  • Johan Hegg: Vocals
  • Olavi Mikkonen: Guitar
  • Johan Söderberg: Guitar
  • Ted Lundström: Bass
  • Fredrik Andersson: Drums

 

SURTUR RISING: 
When  I open the album in my player I directly recognize it’s Amon Amarth. The Album kick’s of in a great way. The riffs are less melancholic then their previous albums but still the sound get you hooked in a perfect way.  I am not a big fan of (Folk). But the way Amon Amarh give their own brutal twist to it, its easily to digest. The lyrics are again mythical and epic.

 

There are some nice blasting songs on the album like the title-track , wich is nice to put on while cruising with your car on a sunny day. Luckily the more doom like songs appear also on the album. The more aggressive songs are perfectly balanced with the more slower songs. Nothing beats it to chill down and listen to the pulverizing riffs soothing your mood.  The growls and grunts are perfectly mixed in this record. The one who mixed the record did a hell of a good job. The album is pure and heavy and the fans will be satisfied with this epic adventure!

Tracklist:

  1. War Of The Gods
  2. Töck´s Taunt - Loke´s Treachery part II
  3. Destroyer Of The Universe
  4. Slaves Of Fear
  5. Live Without Regrets
  6. The Last Stand Of Frej
  7. For Victory Or Death
  8. Wrath Of The Norsemen
  9. A Beast Am I
  10. Doom Over Dead Man

Conclusion:
Amon Amarth doesn’t disappoint the fans and keep up the good name they deserve!

LINKS:  http://www.amonamarth.com/


SLAYER/MEGADETH @ KLOKGEBOUW EINDHOVEN.

Nederland krijgt geen Big Four-optreden. Gelukkig zijn er vanavond twee van de Big Four te bewonderen in Het Klokgebouw in Eindhoven. Slayer en Megadeth staan vanavond op de line-up met als support Diggeth.

Ik ben al vroeg aanwezig, want op de site was aangegeven dat het wel eens erg druk kon worden. Alles wordt netjes verzorgd door de mensen van Het Klokgebouw. Theo Samson draait de plaatjes en er is genoeg voedsel en drankmogelijkheden om de tijd door te komen voordat de eerste band op de podium staat.


THE STRANGLERS @ HEDON ZWOLLE

The Stranglers zijn toch wel 1 van de voorouders van ska gemixed met de wat hardere gitaren. Oftewel Punk ! Nu komen de mannen ook nog eens met een akoestische set in de Hedon te Zwolle. Daar moet ik dus bij zijn. Er is geen voorprogramma vanavond. Ik kan dus eerst nog een rustig hapje thuis doen, voordat ik mij op weg naar de Hedon begeef. Bij aankomst merk ik al gauw dat ik niet tussen het Metalpubliek sta zoals ik gewend ben. Ik sta nu tussen de 40ers en 50ers en hier en daar een verdwaalde jongere. The Stranglers zijn nog steeds populair en het is leuk om te zien, hoe de fanclub zich gretig op de  merchandise stort.


7 MEI ADAM BOMB IN DE PEPPEL , ZEIST
ZATERDAG 7 MEI MAAR LIEFT 2 TOPACTS IN DE PEPPEL: 
 
OVER THE EDGE
 

Over The Edge is een metalband uit Zeeland (NL) en staat voor een flinke
portie heftige, bij een breed publiek bekende covers van o.a. Metallica,
System of a Down, Machine Head, Pantera, AC/DC, Megadeth, Iron Maiden,
Drowning Pool en Guns N' Roses.
Elke tent met rock/metalliefhebbers gaat plat, no holding back!
Vanavond is de Peppel dus aan de beurt om al dat geweld mee te mogen maken!
 

 
 
ADAM BOMB
 

 
Deze glamrocker zet zowel letterlijk als figuurlijk alles in vuur en vlam.
Met een leermeester als Eddie Van Halen weet deze rocker de meeste
geweldige solo's en riffs uit zijn losse pols te schudden.
Houd je van een avondje waar de vonken vanaf vliegen dan moet je zeker
komen kijken naar deze zeer explosieve set !!
 
DEUR OPEN 20:00
AANVANG 20:30
 
SCHADE 7,50  VVK 6,- MEER INFO http://www.peppel-zeist.nl/

 

AMON AMARTH storming Worldwide charts with 'Surtur Rising'!

Swedish Viking Death Metal Kings AMON AMARTH receive worldwide acclaim by fans for their brand new album Surtur Rising!

Surtur Rising, the latest studio album from Swedish death metal tyrants, AMON AMARTH sold approximately 15,000 copies in the United States in its first week landing the band the #34 on the Billboard Top 200, #6 on the Billboard Top Independent Album, #1 on the Billboard Top Hard Music Albums and #10 on the Indy/Small Chain Core Store Chart.

In Germany, Surtur Rising sold over 14,000 units, entered the Top 100 Chart at #8 and is in the official Media Mark charts at #14 in its second week (# 8 in the first week).

In addition, Surtur Rising came in at #19 on Canada's Top 200 Chart, #5 on the Independent Charts and #2 on Hard Charts. The record is #1 in Canada on iTunes' Top Metal albums, and also charted on the following: #16 Top 200, #3 Top Rock and #1 Top Metal. In the U.S., the record ranked in at #2 on iTunes' Rock Album chart and #20 in the Top 200 (overall album chart).

Here’s an overview about the top chart positions for Surtur Rising that have been revealed by now:

Germany: # 8
Sweden: # 8
Austria: # 12
Finland: # 16
Canada: # 19
Switzerland: # 20
USA: # 34
Czech Republic: # 35 (1st week); # 34 (2nd week)
Denmark: # 37
Norway: # 55
Benelux: 62
United Kingdom: # 75



CANNIBAL CORPSE DVD 'Global Evisceration' hits charts in Germany, United Kingdom, USA & Canada!


Florida's godfathers of death metal, CANNIBAL CORPSE, have landed the # 18 spot on the official national music video charts in Germany, #35 on the official national Music Video Charts in the UK, #17 spot on the Billboard Music Video Charts in the US and #5 on the Music Video Chart in Canada with their latest DVD release Global Evisceration, which came out March 11/14/15 via Metal Blade Records.

Global Eviscerationwas shot and edited by director Denise Korycki (Wild Wind Productions) who also shot and directed Centuries of Torment – The First 20 Years (entered the Billboard Music Video Charts at #8 in its 1st week of release!) in addition to DVD’s for bands like As I Lay Dying, Mastodon, Killswitch Engage, and Super Joint Ritual.

Global Evisceration contains one disc and is approximately 3 hours long with artwork by the infamous Vince Locke. The main program includes full live-song performances from two live shows: the Gothic Theater in Englewood, CO shot on 5/3/10 and Sunshine Theater in Albuquerque, NM shot on 5/8/10. Global Evisceration also includes bonus performances and extra segments including behind the scenes footage coveringEvisceration Plague era tours.

Head over to the CANNIBAL CORPSE landing page HERE to check out the first video - an excerpt that didn’t make the final cut featuring Jesse Jackson – the second video featuring part of a live performance of Stripped, Raped and Strangled – the third video that is part of a live performance of the track Scalding Hail, and the fourth and final teaser clip featuring the band in Malta.

http://www.facebook.com/cannibalcorpse
http://www.myspace.com/cannibalcorpse
http://www.cannibalcorpse.net 

Nieuw nummer van Amorphis online te beluisteren!

"You I Need", de nieuwe single van AMORPHIS, kun je beluisteren op hun facebook.

Het nummer maakt zijn digitaal debuut in Finland op 20 April in Finland en in andere landen vanaf 22 April.  Het nummer is afkomstig van het album "The Beginning Of Times", en die komt uit op 27 mei via Nuclear Blast Records

 


warrant Artwork revealed!
Californian rockers WARRANT will release their new album, "Rockaholic", on May 17 via Frontiers Records. The CD was produced by Keith Olsen, who has previously worked with OZZY OSBOURNEWHITESNAKE and SCORPIONS, among others.

In a recent interview with the Phoenix New Times' "Up On The Sun" blog,WARRANT/ex-LYNCH MOB singer Robert Mason stated aboutWARRANT's new material, "We really took our time, and, through a couple years of doing 'fly' dates, we kinda said, well, the band works, we're all doing it for the right reasons, we're all really happy on stage. It's great playing this legacy of music, and the fans love it, so why not [write some new songs] — but we were careful about it. We didn't just throw a record together. We test-marketed a couple of these songs live last summer, just springing them on the audiences. 'Hey this is something you've never heard before,' and by the end of the song, everyone is singing along, or buying into it. So we figured we should put the record out."

When asked if WARRANT felt a lot of pressure writing the new material to live up to the hit songs the band had scored, Mason replied, "We're just musicians. I'm just a songwriter/singer in a rock band. I was writing songs for this record, and personally, did I feel like they had to fit into an old-school WARRANT mode? To a degree, but I don't really think you write songs like that. The fact that we are all from the same headspace, it kind of worked out that way. Some of these songs sound like a bit of a departure, but there are tracks on this new CD that we played live in the rehearsal room, and they came together through pre-production and shit, for the year prior or so to this record, and they sound like WARRANTsongs to us. It's just me singing. My voice is a little different than the original singer, but it's just a thing were you go on, and you write songs. I turned over things I had written, and say, do your thing, play it theWARRANT way, and they could do nothing else, and I would ask nothing else. So, is that the long way of answering yes? (laughs) I didn't feel pressure, or intimidation, but there was a certain responsibility."


source :http://www.roadrunnerrecords.com/blabbermouth.net/


Draconian will release new album in June!

 

Vocalist Anders Jacobsson of the Swedish gothic/doom metal bandDRACONIAN has issued the following update:

"We are sorry for keeping the lid on during the writing and recording process of this album. It has been a quite hard route, at least for me, to get things right and in order. I guess, most art is flowing without restraint and changes during the time of its construction, and sometimes even the artist him/herself needs time to comprehend it.

"Jens Bogren of Fascination Street [studios in Örebro, Sweden] sprinkled his magic over the songs during the production and mixing process and each and every song found its way. We are grateful to have such a committed producer and we can only feel blessed by the experience to once again have made another album reality at Fascination Street.

"The new album is called 'A Rose For The Apocalypse' and deals with a vast dilemma we're all facing as one species; the horrors and contradictions we've created in our 'nature-divorced' system. The title refers to the collapse of this structure, built by mindless human opinion. It also refers to the necessity of its demise. We are trying to capture the gloom of its realization. I don't know if we'd want to call this a conceptual album, but most songs certainly deal with the same topic in one way or the other. I've reached a point in my life when my eyes remain open.

"To most of you, 'A Rose For The Apocalypse' might appear a darker, more threatening album compared to the previous [album], 'Turning Season Within'. And yes, it is different in several ways, but DRACONIANremains the same. 

"I have often said that our new work resembles a mix between the old and the new DRACONIAN and will unite fans of both preferences. While listening to this album, I feel a lot of history comes together in one place, at least sound-wise.



Mastodon naar de Patronaat in Haarlem op 28 Juni

MASTODON maakt metalseizoen Patronaat nog mooier!

Met het boeken van MASTODON op dinsdag 28 juni, gaat het rijtje aardige metalzaken in het Patronaat er nog weer beter uitzien - na The Faceless (USA) op zaterdag 14 mei, Entombed (SWE) op zaterdag 21 mei, en o.a. Blood And Vengeance (tijdens Heavy uit Haarlem V) op vrijdag 3 juni, komen nu ook de makers van Leviathanen Crack The Skye naar Haarlem!

 

 

 


NORTHER – CIRCLE REGENERATED – CENTURY MEDIA RECORDS – RELEASE 18 APRIL 2011

Norther
De mannen van Norther staan bekend om hun melodieuze Death metal gemixed met power metal. Net zoals Children of Bodom komen ze ook uit Finland.  Gelukkig zijn de Finnen niet aan het na-apen geslagen. Dit hebben ze al laten horen met hun voorganger “N” uit 2008 die een grote hit in Finland was. Nu met het album “Circle Regenerated” gaan ze een poging doen de rest van de wereld ook te doen veroveren.

 

Line- Up

 

  • Kristian Ranta (guitars / clean vocals)
  • Aleksi Sihvonen (vocals)
  • Heikki Saari (drums)
  • Jukka Koskinen (bass)
  • Tuomas Planman (keyboards)
  • Daniel Freyberg (guitars) 

 

Circle Regenerated
Wow wat weten de mannen de liefhebbers van melodieuze death powermetal hier te trakteren op een waar meesterwerkje. Vingervlug gitaargetokkel word afgewisseld met zeer fraaie rustige stukken. Het is allemaal niet het meest origineel wat er gebeurd, maar de passie en techniek maakt alles goed. Het gaspedaal gaat er op sommige stukken op de plaat flink op. Met de lente net begonnen is dit natuurlijk een ultieme plaat om hard op te zetten met de ramen open, en lekker een stukje te scheuren. Zowel de cleane als ruige strot liggen aangenaam in het gehoor en de keyboard word subtiel toegepast.  Ook laten de mannen horen akoestisch goed uit de voeten te kunnen. Neem daarbij een cover van Lambretta en het instrumentaal “New beginning” en je spreekt toch van een heel divers album!

Tracklist:

 

  1. Through It All
  2. The Hate I Bear
  3. Truth
  4. Some Day
  5. Break Myself Away
  6. Believe
  7. Falling
  8. We Do Not Care
  9. The Last TimeClosing In
  10. New Beginning
  11. Hear You Call My Name
  12. Bimbo  

 

Conclusie:
Ben je een liefhebber van melodieuze death met een flinke dosis power metal, geef deze mannen van Norther dan een kans met deze zeer degelijke plaat!

Norther kun je checken online:
www.norther.net
www.myspace.com\/norther


WOLF-LEGIONS OF BASTARDS - CENTURY MEDIA RECORDS - RELEASE 25 APRIL;

Deze authentieke heavy metalband komt uit Zweden en timmert sinds 1995 aan de weg. Wie van onvervalste metal houdt in de stijl van Judas Priest en Saxon, kan al 16 jaar z’n hart ophalen bij deze band. Legions of Bastards is alweer schijf nummer 6 van Wolf

 

WOLF IS :

  • Niklas Stålvind - lead vocals and guitars
  • Johannes Axeman - guitars and backing vocals
  • Anders Modd - bass guitar
  • Richard Holmgren – drums

Hell yeah, gelukkig heeft WOLF niks aan hun formule veranderd. Hoge stem, bombastische drums en heerlijke gitaarsolo’s in een jaren 80/90-jasje gegoten. Neem bijvoorbeeld “Full Moon Possesion”. Alles klopt aan dat nummer. De opbouw is goed en de strot van Niklas grijpt je bij je ballen. Bij de solo’s aangekomen gaat het vol gas met headbangen.

De teksten zijn simpel maar dat maakt het meezinggehalte erg sterk. Met deze plaat laat WOLF zien zich vast te hebben gehouden aan hun roots. Er zijn voor de doorgewinterde fans geen verrassingen te vinden op deze plaat. Het is gewoon lekkere  heavy metalmuziek zonder poespas.

Tracklist:

1. Vicious Companions (3:41)

2. Skull Crusher (3:47)

3. Full Moon Possession (4:25)

4. Jekyll & Hyde (5:41)

5. Absinthe (4:44)

6. Tales From The Crypt (5:55)

7. Nocturnal Rites (5:30)

8. Road To Hell (4:15)

9. False Preacher (3:57)

10. Hope To Die (4:34)

11. K-141 Kursk (6:03)

Conclusie:
Ben je fan van jaren 80 en 90 heavy metal, dan kun je deze plaat blind aanschaffen!

Links:

www.wolf.nu


Winterus Premieres new track!

April 7th, 2011

WINTERUS premieres new track “Harmonious”

 
KALAMAZOO, MI – Michigan black metal act, WINTERUS, has teamed up with Bravewords.com to premiere a brand new track, “Harmonious”, from the band’s forthcoming Lifeforce Records debut, In Carbon Mysticism. The new song can be streamed via the Bravewords.com “Knuckle Tracks” audio player at www.bravewords.com
 
 
 
01. Lone Wolves
02. Reborn
03. No Rest
04. Harmonious
05. Moonlust
06. Eternal Ghost
07. Christ Reign (studio live recording)
08. Dusk Unveils (studio live recording)
09. Through The Mist (studio live recording)

“Harmonious” is the first song to be revealed from the April 26th (North America) / May 16th (Europe) release. A music video for the track will premiere in the coming weeks.
 
In Carbon Mysticism was self-produced and engineered last winter in Battle Creek, MI, and mastered in Los Angeles by Maor Appelbaum (Cynic, Therion, and Rob Halford). It consists of six studio tracks and three live studio recordings. Artwork for In Carbon Mysticism comes courtesy of Joshua Davis.
 
Winterus originally formed in December 2009 under the name The Ancient, and quickly released an EP, ‘A Frozen Path’, in May 2010, which led to its signing with Lifeforce Records. In Carbon Mysticism sees the band further developing its blackened death metal with a subtle atmospheric edge, drawing influence from such acts as Immortal, Enslaved, Wolves In The Throne Room, and Nachtmystium. The forthcoming album combines dark and intense atmospheres with unbridled attacks of grim and raw attitude dealing with themes of brutal honesty, isolation, philosophy, and real human emotion. Stay tuned for more information on Winterus and In Carbon Mysticism.
 
Winterus is…
Christopher Erich Neu – vocals
Nathan Barnes – guitar
Dominic Simmons – guitar
Cody McCoy – drums
 
 


PENTAGRAM - LAST RITES - METALBLADE RECORDS - RELEASE 08.04.2011

Pentagram is 1 van de pioniers van doom. De band is sinds de jaren 70 al  actief. De band heeft al vele gedaantewisselingen gehad en het enige vaste bandlid is Bobby Liebling. De band maakt furore met klassiekers zoals Relentless en Day of Reckoning. 

 

 

 Line-up

  • Bobby Liebling - Vocals
  • Victor Griffin - Guitar
  • Greg Turley - Bass
  • Tim Tomaselli -Drums

Eindelijk na 7 jaar is er weer een album van min of meer de grondleggers van de doom metaal muziek. 
Pentagram neemt je weer mee op een ouderwetse duistere rit.

 

Het gaat meteen goed van start met “Treat Me Right” en je weet gelijk dat deze veteranen niks aan kracht hebben ingeleverd. Heerlijke gitaarloopjes worden begeleidt met de duistere teksten van Liebling. De plaat is heerlijk zwaar in zijn riffs. Liebling is goed bij strot en daar mogen we toch wel dankbaar voor zijn na meer dan 30 jaar. Dit is weer Pentagram op zijn best. De nummer klinken van uit een oude era geschreven. Wie weet is dit ook het geval. Ik als Pentagram fan ben zeer content met deze plaat.

Tracklist:

01. Treat me right
02. Call the man
03. Into the ground
04. 8
05. Everything's turning to night
06. Windmills and chimes
07. American dream
08. Walk in blue light
09. Horseman
10. Death in 1st person
11. Nothing left

Conclusie:
Pentagram fans kunnen deze plaat zonder enige spijt aanschaffen en weer eens ouderwets genieten!


Voormalig Manowar drummer Scott Columbus overleden

Het is weer een zwarte dag in metalland. Drummer Scott Columbus is op maandag 4 April op 54 jarige leeftijd komen te overlijden.

Scott speelde van 1983 maar liefst 7 jaar bij Manowar. In 1990 moest hij vanwege famillie omstandigheden het stokje overgeven aan Rhino. Van 1996 tot en met 2008 speelde hij weer voor Manowar om toch daarna weer zijn drums over te geven aan Rhino.

Hier volgt een statement van Manowar:

 

"It is with great sorrow that we announce the passing of our brother Scott Columbus.


Scott Columbus was a rare talent and equally a rare individual.

He was a father, a friend and a brother of metal.

All of the great moments we spent together in the studio, in our homes and on the road are burnished in our hearts and memories forever.

These words are spoken with heavy hearts but we have the comfort of knowing that he is in a good place and at peace.

He will never be forgotten.


Your family and brothers,
Joey, Eric, Karl, Donnie

And all at Magic Circle Music"

 

 

 R.I.P.

 


Obituary @ Patronaat Haarlem

Patrontaat Haarlem is mijn bestemming voor vanavond. Hier staan op het podium maar liefst 3 bands om ons te gaan vermaken. Obituary en Grave,de oudgedienden van de zware metalen, komen hun kunsten vertonen, maar eerst is Pathology aan de beurt.





Feuerengel @ Hedon Zwolle
Feuerengel

Muziek van Rammstein gaat er bij deze reporter altijd in als zoete koek. Vandaar dat ik ook zeer opgetogen en met goede zin naar de Hedon in Zwolle vertrek.
Vanavond staan daar de mannen van Feuerengel op het podium. Feuerengel is een Rammstein coverband. Niet alleen de muziek wordt vertolkt: ook de showelementen zijn op zijn Rammsteins. Harde muziek, vuur en vuurwerk: daar tekent iedere metalhead toch voor?

Bij aankomst is het eventjes wachten tot het allemaal begint, maar ik heb een mooi plekje gevonden om de show in vol ornaat te kunnen aanschouwen. De Hedon is tot de nok uitverkocht en het is er gezellig druk. Dat Rammstein tegenwoordig een zeer commerciële band is, merk je aan de diversiteit in het publiek. Zelfs de gemiddelde huisvrouw is in de Hedon te vinden vanavond.
 
 
De Duitse vlag siert het hele podium en met een knal gaat die omlaag om de bak met herrie over ons heen te gooien. De show gaat van start en het is duidelijk dat de mannen van Feuerengel goed naar de shows van Rammstein gekeken hebben.
“Spiel mit Mir” wordt theatraal neergezet met een in rode saus gedrenkte babypop. De oogjes van de pop lichten lief op. De rubberboot wordt ook nog gebruikt in de show, ditmaal geen bandlid in het bootje. Een bezoeker krijgt de eer om over een zee van mensen te varen, ook al is de Hedon natuurlijk maar een plas vergeleken bij de menigte van Rock am Ring.

Helaas is het geluid best slecht te noemen. De zang is het meeste dat mist in de mix, maar goed, wie kent de teksten van Rammstein nou niet? De nummers worden luid meegebruld. Alle klassiekers komen aan bod, zoals “Du Hast” en “Engel”. Niet alleen het oude werk komt aan bod, ook “Pussy” en “Waidmanns Heil” van het laatste Rammstein-album komen voorbij. 

De mannen hebben veel plezier en ook het aanwezige publiek is tevreden over de leuke show die de mannen neerzetten. Ondanks het slechte geluid heb ik een leuk Duits avondje gehad in de Hedon.


<