RÓ - Battle of Brothers - Unsigned - 24-8-2011

In de zomer van 2005 willen de 18-jarigen Omar Emilsson (OSWA) en Ragnar Solberg (Sign) beide frontmannen in rockbands afkomstig uit Hafnarfjordur, IJsland,  hun zachtere / akoestische kant laten zien in de vorm van RÓ. The Battle of Brothers was daar het eerste resultaat van.

 

Bandleden:

·        Ómar Emilson

·        Ragnar Sólberg Rafnsson

 

Battle of Brothers


De muziek van RÓ is erg moeilijk in een hokje te schuiven en vooral erg experimenteel te noemen. Op dit plaatje worden leuke dingen uitgeprobeerd met veel verschillende instrumenten en soundeffecten. Toch blijven deze 2 heren bij de oorsprong, en verliezen daarbij de puurheid van hun muziek niet uit het oog. De instrumentbeheersing en keuze is opvallend, maar niet geheel verrassend aangezien beide een zeer muzikale achtergrond hebben. Ómar Emilson is met zijn band veelal geliefd binnen IJsland. Ragnar Solberg is vooral bekend van de geweldige rockband Sign. Deze band doet het vooral in Groot Brittannië bijzonder goed. Om even wat te noemen uit de grabbelton: daar hebben ze op het Main Stage van Download festival gestaan en o.a. samen getourd met Skid Row. Daarnaast heeft Ragnar Solberg zich de laatste jaren voornamelijk gericht op zijn solo project. RÓ komt daar qua sound meer in de buurt. Groot verschil is het feit dat RÓ nog net een tikkeltje verder gaat op het artistiek gebied. Hierdoor zal zeker niet iedereen er voor open staan.

De aftrap van dit album begint met nummer “Taiga”, dit is een opeenstapeling van verschillende ritmes, die over elkaar gezet worden. Na een intro begint de zang van Ómar, tot net voor het refrein, waarna het nummer als het ware wordt stopgezet. En dan komt er een refrein wat ik werkelijk nog nooit eerder heb gehoord. Er wordt een zin als het ware continue terug gespoeld, waarbij er op een trommeltje wordt geslagen en waar later nog een soort Spaans gitaarriedeltje door wordt gespeeld. Geniaal! Aan het einde van het nummer wordt er samen gezongen. Meteen valt op hoeveel overeenkomsten beide vocalen hebben. Erg mooi, bij een uithaal heffen ze elkaar op, en dit geeft een versterkend effect. Het tweede nummer “Not in Love” is iets toegankelijker en bevat meer de standaard opbouw. De vocalen komen in dit nummer extra mooi naar voren. “The Chosen Youngs” heeft een best krachtig begin, maar wordt in de tussen gelegen melodieën juist weer heel rustig.  Daarnaast wordt er een gitaareffect gebruikt, die erg opvallend wordt ingezet. Op de één of andere manier weet RÓ de effecten die bij veel bands vervagen binnen de nummers eruit te laten springen.

“Lifestream/ Let it Grow” en “I am a Dream” bestaan voornamelijk uit een piano en zang. Er wordt met opvallend veel gevoel gespeeld/ gezongen. Naarmate de nummers vorderen wordt er steeds meer kracht bij gezet. Met weinig middelen weten de heren de luisteraar mee te trekken. “Mother Gaia” is daarentegen weer heel opzwepend. Door middel van krachtige ritmes wordt er een lijn uitgezet richting het refrein. Gek genoeg wordt het refrein dan eigenlijk weer een stuk softer. Zelf vind ik dit nummer het hoogtepunt van het album. “The Battle of Brothers” begint weer met piano en daarbij gitaar. Na een kort intro komt er een enorme vocale uithaal, dit haalt aan de ene kant de gang uit het nummer, maar aan de andere kant geeft het ook wel weer wat speciaals. In het refrein versneld het en komen die twee prachtige stemmen weer samen. Bij de afsluiting van het nummer worden de vocalen ook weer aardig heftig ingezet. Ik vind dit zelf niet helemaal harmonieus, maar het is wel weer geweldig origineel. Daarnaast lijkt het dat er een boodschap mee overgedragen wil worden. “ See Why The Rage Ain’t Gone” is het precieze voorbeeld waarom we hier te maken hebben met een paar topmuzikanten. Elke mogelijke vorm van gitaarspel komt voorbij. Het begint met tokkelen, waarna er over wordt gegaan op slag. Verderop heb je dan ook nog een stuk elektrische gitaar en aan het einde zelfs een mandoline. De afsluiter van deze plaat “More Then Words Can Express” is vooral muzikaal. De titel van het nummer zegt eigenlijk meer dan genoeg. De talentkast wordt voor de laatste maal nog even open getrokken.

Conclusie
Wat een verdomd goede plaat is dit! Het bewijs dat wanneer mensen muziek maken puur vanuit het hart, je een alles overtreffend plaatje kunt maken. De diversiteit en creativiteit van deze 2 muzikanten uit IJsland van net midden twintig, zijn ronduit opvallend te noemen. Ze hebben zich duidelijk laten leiden door hun eigen ideeën en niet door die van een commerciële insteek. Prachtig! De nummers zitten stuk voor stuk uitstekend in elkaar, en er wordt een scala aan instrumenten gebruikt. Enig minpuntje vind ik de minder harmonieuze stukken bij “The Battle of Brothers”, maar vanuit het creatieve oogpunt gezien om de overtuiging over te brengen op de luisteraar, is het eigenlijk ook weer erg sterk. Ik kan deze plaat meer dan aanraden. Zowel voor de muziekliefhebber die eens wat vernieuwend wil horen, als voor de muziekliefhebber die op zoek is naar echt talent en voor een ieder die eens naar minder commerciële muziek wil luisteren.


Tracklist

1.      Taiga 

2.      Not in Love

3.      The Chosen Youngs

4.      My Enemies

5.      Lifestream/Let it Grow

6.      Mother Gaia

7.      The Battle of Brothers

8.      Dirt

9.      See Why the Rage Ain't Gone

10. I am a Dream

11. Legacy

12. More Than Words Can Express

Links

http://www.gogoyoko.com/artist/RO (hier is het album te verkrijgen)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UhPakSb3ml0 (video van Taiga)

www.myspace.com/roiceland

REPORT MADE BY: TAGGI EENSTROOM 


LIVEREPORT: ELSROCK 2011

Het is de 6e maal dat metal minnend Nederland afreist naar de biblebelt.
Hier in het grrristelijke Rijssen is het weer tijd voor dag vol metal en gezelligheid.

Gelukkig hebben de zwarte kousen ditmaal besloten niet onze tere zieltjes te bekeren op weg naar het festivalterrein. Dit scheelt gelukkig een hoop onnodig geneuzel en kunnen wij ons snel richten op de belangrijke dingen in het leven: Vrienden , gezelligheid en vooral een flinke dosis metaalmuziek.

Dit jaar heeft de organisatie weer flink hun best gedaan, om er een pracht festijn van te maken. De festivalweide is flink uitgebreid. Ditmaal staat er een flinke tentstage met daarnaast een open stage. De metalmarkt is er natuurlijk ook weer bij en uiteraard bij binnenkomst begeef ik mij daar het eerst heen.  Piet Paulusma heeft gelukkig ongelijk gehad met zijn flinke hoosbuien die voorspeld waren. Dus lekker in het zonnetje ga ik op zoek naar wat nieuwe patches en wat nieuwe schijfjes!

Doordat het terrein iets later open ging dan gepland, gaat de programmering snel vol gas van  start.

Skaldgrim heeft de eer om Elsrock 2011 af te trappen. Met een diepe luide grunt , begint voorman Erik Nijkamp ( mede –oprichter Elsrock )  aan een set met degelijke nummers.

 

Begin dit jaar hebben ze 6 nummers opgenomen die met veel enthousiasme vandaag ten gehore wordt gebracht.  Super boeit het mij allemaal niet, maar met het zonnetje op mijn bakkes en een lekker drankje in mijn klauwen is het een leuke start van de dag. De set wordt afgesloten met een death metal versie van “Rocking in a Free World“.

Tijd voor een break is er niet. Zodra de set van Skaldgrim stopt klinken meteen de eerste tonen vanuit de tent. Een strak tijdschema dus , hulde voor de organisatie hiervoor.

Cirrha Niva is geen onbekende meer op de metalfestivals in Nederland en België. En terecht uiteraard. Deze mannen weten mij altijd zeer te vermaken met hun progressieve metal. En niet alleen mij. Het publiek wat nu toch wel met groten getale binnen stroomt staat duidelijk te genieten van een zeer strakke set. Legrand steelt weer de show met zijn excentrieke gebaren  en lekkere strot. Niks op aan te merken op deze show. Dit beloofd wat voor de rest van deze lange dag.

 

Snel even de catering uitproberen en ik moet zeggen, die is goed verzorgt. Het broodje hamburger word even vlug achter de kiezen gepropt om vervolgens een kijkje te nemen bij de volgende band op het programma.

 

De Duitsers van Watch me Bleed staan op het buitenpodium. Met twee man sterk op grunt schotelen zij het publiek een mix van thrash/death met een vleugje hardcore voor. Persoonlijk komen ze bij mij niet echt ijzersterk over. Wel staan ze super enthousiast op het podium, dit maakt een hoop goed. Al snel klimt 1 van de grunters al in de steigers van het podium en brult hij van grote hoogte over het publiek heen. Voor het oog natuurlijk vermakelijk om te zien. Het publiek staat jammer genoeg zeer tam naar de kunsten van deze mannen te kijken.

 

On stage in de tent wordt het muzikaal gebeuren vervolgt door de heren van Chiraw.
Het is al weer de derde keer dat Elsrock hen geboekt heeft. Chiraw doet wat we van ze gewend zijn, een energieke set neerzetten met een lekker aanstekelijke pot metal.

 

De frontman van Chiraw vliegt uiteraard weer alle kanten op. De band vermaakt zich prima op het podium. Helaas blijft het voor het podium erg rustig. Een flinke pit was welkom geweest.

Bij het laatste nummer van Chiraw lopen wij via de dranktent snel naar het buitenpodium.

The Kandidate staat op het punt om  hun  metalcore te gaan botvieren op het publiek in Rijssen. Damn, wat een energie straalt er van deze Denen uit. Superstrak en bikkelhard brengen zij hun nummers ten gehore.

 

Het zonnetje staat flink te branden en de band wordt hier blijkbaar nog extra door opgeladen. Een zeer strakke show met zeer goed geluid word hier gegeven op het podium. Wat mij betreft 1 van de betere bands van vandaag.

Hollenthon is een band die je niet vaak tegenkomt op de podia. De band is momenteel druk bezig met de opname van hun nieuwe album. Voor enkele festivals maken zij een uitzondering en gelukkig is Elsrock 1 van die uitzonderingen. 

 

Deze metalheads afkomstig uit Wenen laten zich niet in een bepaald genre drukken. Hun muziek is een samensmelting van meerdere genres. Dit doen ze niet onverdienstelijk. Hun set opent zeer traag en log, maar al snel komt er snelheid in hun spel. Een lekker tussendoortje en ik ga zeker hun nieuwe CD uitproberen.

Na zonneschijn komt regen en dat geldt ook hier in Rijssen. Zou Piet Paulusma dan toch nog gelijk krijgen? Gelukkig blijft het een miezerig buitje en kunnen de mensen zich zonder kletsnat te worden verzamelen voor het buitenpodium. Melechesh komt hier zijn Midden Oosters metaal ten gehore brengen.

 

De gitarist komt al op in Jihad stijl en de toon is meteen gezet. Deze  death/thrash met black invloeden knalt uitmuntend uit de speakers. Er staan aardig wat mensen voor het podium en voor het eerst vandaag laat het publiek wat meer van zich horen. Na deze goede set wordt het even tijd voor een break en nog een heerlijke burger. Tja een reporter is ook maar een mens en moet zo af en toe even gevoed worden.

 

Het is ondertussen druk in de tent. Geen wonder met oudgediende Asphyx op het punt om hun show te gaan geven. De band staan al jaren garant voor ijzersterke old school death en ik denk dat menig deathmetal liefhebber wel een album in zijn/haar collectie heeft van Martin van Drunen en co.

 

Vandaag wil het helaas allemaal niet zo vlotten. Door technische problemen duurt het allemaal wat langer dan gepland voordat de mannen van start gaan. De show blijft gepaard gaan met niet al te best geluid. Dit heeft ten gevolge dat dit geen zwaar explosieve set word.

 

Ik heb de mannen tig keer beter gezien. Hopelijk dat de volgende show van deze uitmuntende artiesten weer ouderwets genieten word.

Er zijn niet alleen zware metalen op Elsrock te horen. Naast de progressive metal van Cirrha Niva wordt het publiek nu getrakteerd op een flinke pot heavy metal.

Grand Magus laat horen dat heavy metal allesbehalve dood is. Ondanks hun statische houding on stage is het een genot om te luisteren naar deze geweldige band.  Hier en daar zijn er al headbangers te spotten en de sfeer zit er vooraan goed in.  Elsrock heeft er een goede keuze aan gedaan deze band er tussendoor te gooien. Even totaal wat anders en dat is op zijn tijd wel erg lekker.

 

Vol geladen van de aanstekelijke metal  van Grand Magus, wordt het tijd voor 1 van mijn favorieten van vandaag. Grave staat op het punt een ware slachting te gaan houden on stage. Deze Zweden staan al tig jaar garant voor een pot onvervalste death metal. Met klassiekers op zak zoals “Into the Grave“, staan ze altijd garant voor een mooi feestje. De band is vandaag lekker op dreef en ik kan weer even lekker mijn nekje overspannen maken op de brute tonen van Grave.

 

Na al dit bruut geweld, doen we nog even een rondje metal market om vervolgens weer te haasten, naar het buitenpodium. Symphorce komt namelijk een potje melodic metal ten gehore brengen en daar ben ik als liefhebber van het genre uiteraard zeer voor te porren.

 

Helaas voor de band regent het weer en blijven veel mensen vanuit de tent kijken naar het optreden. De die hards staan uiteraard vooraan om te genieten van deze wervelende set.

Alle cliché ’s worden uit de kast gehaald.  Goede gitaarlijnen, sterke strot en bombastische drums dragen bij tot een uitstekende set. Leuke band en ik hoop dat de heren besluiten snel weer een album uit te brengen.

Nu is het tijd voor het publiek om los te gaan. De herriemakers van Nuclear Assault zijn next op de tent stage. Tijd voor jaren “80 Thrash.  Nuclear Assault staat bekend om hun compromisloze snoeiharde metal. Technisch gezien geen hoogstandje, maar desondanks 1 groot feest. Al bij het eerste nummer vliegen de mensen over de reling en kan de moshpit beginnen. Wat een genot om even te kijken naar dit stukje historie. Vooraan is het beuktijd maar  ik besluit even lekker het terrein weer rond te trekken om hier en daar met bekenden even gezellig bij te kletsen.

 

Na even geouwehoerd te hebben met de jongens van Foretold ( als je ze nog niet kent, check them out ! )  is het weer tijd om naar het buitenpodium te gaan.

Het is tijd voor het laatste geweld van eigen bodem voor vandaag. Legions of the Damned is aan de beurt om het publiek dat in groten getale voor het podium staat omver te blazen.

Legions of the Damned is al jaren mateloos populair bij het Nederlands metalpubliek. Hun muziek is een strakke mix van death en black. Vandaag laten ze zien en horen niks aan kracht te hebben ingeboet. Maurice is erg goed bij strot vandaag en de rest van de band vult goed aan.  De teksten worden door het publiek moeiteloos mee gebruld en Legions of the Damned laat zien terecht een hoge spot op de programmering bemachtigd te hebben.

 

Na deze set is het festival qua muziek helemaal losgebarsten, de laatste 3 bands op de programmering liegen er niet om.  Niemand minder dan de Vikingen van Unleashed staan op het podium. De pioneers van Viking metal stellen uiteraard niet teleur. Vanaf dat The Warriors welkom geheten worden barst het feest los. Unleashed  gaat heerlijk los on stage en voor het podium staat een flinke bries van al het wapperend haar. De kramp schiet al snel in mijn nek van al dit brute geweld. Het laatste album was al een genot in de auto, live knalt het nog beter uit de speakers. De Vikingen laten na tig jaar nog steeds zien heer en meester over Viking metal te zijn.

 

Tijdens het concert van Unleashed verzameld menig metalhead zich al voor het buitenpodium, 1 van de smaakmakers van vandaag staat klaar om hun duistere praktijken te laten horen. Marduk staat bekend om hun snoeiharde (rechts) extreme black metal. De refo’s in het dorp zullen al wel kruisjes slaande de schuilkelder in gegaan zijn bij het horen van dit brute compromisloze black. Geheel in stijl van black metal is het podium een duister geheel.

 

Zeer sfeervol wordt de set door deze met corpse-paint besmeurde mannen neer gezet. Uiteraard klinken tussen de nummers de oorlogsgeluiden door uit de speakers. Naast nieuw werk komt er uiteraard ook werk van het klassieke album “Panzer Division“ voorbij zetten.
Na een klein uurtje haat en verderf is het helaas al over en trekken de mensen snel de zaal in om te gaan genieten van alweer de laatste band van vanavond.

Samael  is de headliner van vanavond. Deze man heeft mijn hart gestolen, toen hij eind jaren ’90 met een SM masker “Into The Pentagram“ stond te vertolken op Dynamo Open Air.

 

Deze Duitse excentriekeling heeft sindsdien niet stil gezeten. Al snel is hij van zijn grauwe zware koers afgestapt. Tegenwoordig maakt deze man progressieve black met een flinke saus industrial en goth er overheen gegoten. Het podium is zeer sfeervol belicht en de band laat in de paar nummers die ik bekeken heb zien, dat zij terecht als headliner op deze editie van Elsrock staan.  Maar liefst 16 bands bekijken heeft zijn tol geëist bij mij. Een dag vol geweldige muziek, toffe mensen en vooral gezelligheid heeft mij half doen instorten en ik besluit dus moe, maar tevreden huiswaarts te keren.

Elsrock heeft met hun 6e editie laten zien, nog steeds 1 van de hoogtepunten in Nederland te zijn op metalgebied. Bedankt voor de toffe dag en tot volgend jaar!

 

Report: Ronald van de Baan
Photogapher: Peter van Rijsbergen en Ronald van de Baan 

 


PHOTOREPORT: BOYSETSFIRE @ GIGANT APELDOORN

FOR MORE PICTURES CLICK ON PHOTO
PHOTOGRAPHER PETER VAN RIJSBERGEN


Gorgoroth komt naar de Kelder op 17 -11-11

De Noorse black metal band Gorgoroth kent, zoals vele genregenoten, een turbulentegeschiedenis. Met hun provocerende shows hebben ze al heel wat podia op hun kop gezet en tours lopen regelmatig compleet uit de hand.

Wat echter, tussen alle perikelen door, weleens vergeten wordt is dat de Noren in de jaren 90 prachtige werkstukjes hebben voortgebracht en tot de ware top behoorden. De eerste singles van de band zijn inmiddels veel gezochte zeldzame exemplaren. “Under The Sign Of Hell” uit 1997 wordt gezien als opus magnus van de band, zoals vaker met debuutplaten. Een veelzijdige plaat met ultrasnelle stukken, maar ook midtempo en laaggestemd brutale passages. Black metal in zijn puurste vorm; blasfemisch, rauw, intens en krankzinnig, zoals het hoort te zijn.

Het laatst verschenen album “Quantos Possunt Ad Satanitatem Trahunt” klinkt weer heerlijk primitief en zonder opsmuk. Het tempo ligt een stuk lager dan op de voorgaande albums waardoor het geheel als een lompe sloophamer op je afkomt. De productie is echter wel van deze tijd waardoor het geheel niet gedateerd klinkt. Voor de fan van het eerste uur is dat laatste wellicht een doorn in het oog, voor de nieuwe aanwas een welkome verandering. De plaat was dan ook terug te vinden op menig jaarlijstje. Gorgoroth bewijst anno 2011 nog steeds tot de top te behoren.

Tijdens de Sign Of Hell Tour wordt Gorgoroth vergezeld door de Poolse metalband Vader. Het Poolse metal monster Vader wordt al meer dan 20 jaar op handen gedragen. De band staat vooral bekend om uiterst strak drumwerk, machinale optredens en enorme overtuigingskracht. Super snelle death metal wordt gecombineerd met zware thrash metal riffs wat zorgt voor een lekkere groove.

Ook de Zweedse blackmetalband Vakyrja heeft zich bij de Sign Of Hell Tour aangesloten. Het laatst verschenen album Contamination werd geboren in de zomer van 2009, en is het meest gewelddadige en sluwe album tot nu toe.

Naast Gorgoroth, Vader en Valkyrja zullen nog twee bands zich aansluiten bij de tour. Meer informatie hierover zal binnenkort bekend gemaakt worden. 

 

 

KOSTEN: 17, 50 KAARTEN IN VOORVERKOOP OP: http://www.podiumdekelder.nl

 

 
 

 


PHOTOREPORT: ELSROCK 2011 BY RONALD VAN DE BAAN

FOR MORE PICA'S CLICK ON PHOTO
PHOTOGRAPHER: RONALD VAN DE BAAN


PHOTOREPORT: ELSROCK 2011 BY PETER VAN RIJSBERGEN ( METALRAID.COM)

FOR MORE PICA'S CLICK ON THE PHOTO

PHOTOGRAPHER: PETER VAN RIJSBERGEN : http://www.metalraid.com/


Guus van Hove ( directeur 013 ) overleden.

Gisteren tijden zijn vakantie in de Verenigde Staten is Guus Verhove (44 jaar ) overleden door een ongeval. 
Onderstaand bericht is te lezen op de site van de 013

Met enorme verslagenheid maken wij bekend dat onze directeur Guus van Hove (44 jaar) op maandag 22 augustus 2011 tijdens een rondreis door de Verenigde Staten is overleden aan de gevolgen van een noodlottig ongeval.

Het verschrikkelijke nieuws is bij familie, vrienden en personeel van 013 zeer hard aangekomen. Daarom en vanwege het onderzoek dat nog gaande is, kunnen wij op dit moment geen mededelingen doen over de toedracht van het ongeval.

Bestuurvoorzitter Walter Hamers: “Guus was sinds 1 mei 2003 directeur van 013. Hij heeft al die jaren met hart en ziel gewerkt voor en met 013. Hij heeft 013 met zijn tomeloze energie gemaakt tot wat het nu is. “

Op dit moment is nog niet bekend wanneer de uitvaartplechtigheid zal plaatsvinden. Voor de rest van de week zijn alle shows in 013 afgelast."

Wij wensen de nabestaanden veel sterkte met dit onverwacht verlies.  


PHOTOREPORT: CASTLEFEST 2011 BY PETER VAN RIJSBERGEN

 FOR MORE PHOTO'S CLICK ON PHOTO


Grotere tent voor Elsrock

De organ­isatie van Elsrock heeft besloten om op save te spe­len en een grotere tent te bestellen. Hier­door kun­nen meer mensen bin­nen staan en is het mogelijk ook met een dak boven je hoofd het buiten podium te zien.

Aanstaande zaterdag 27 Augustus, is het alweer zover en barst het feest los.

Link: http://www.elsrock.nl/
Bands: http://www.elsrock.nl/bands/


BRIDGER - BRIDGER - ESCAPE MUSIC – OUT NOW

Glen Bridger was born in Albany and grew up in the Kansas city area. He started playing guitar at the age of 13. Glen developed his guitar playing skills by studying magazines like ‘Guitar World’ and ‘Guitar for Practicing Musician. This helped him to get the guitar spot in several local bands and at the end he ended up as lead guitarist for Head East. He felt the need to make some songs of his own and he added great vocalist Terry Ilous from XYZ to the project.

Bridger is:

  • Terry Ilous - vocals (XYZ, Great White)
  • Glen Bridger – guitars (Head East)
  • Greg Manahan – bass (Head East)
  • Danzoid – drums & percussion
  • Sam McCaslin – keyboards (Michael Schenker, Carmine Appice)

Additional players:

  •  JK Northup - guitars & bass
  • Larry Hart – bass (Montrose, King Kobra, Shortino-Northrup)
  • Eddy Jones – drums & percussion (Head East)
  • Marcus Nand – drum loop programming, keys and guitars
  • Mark Murtha – keys, electric and steel guitars (London Drive)
  • Fat Fontaine – additional lyrics (XYZ)

BRIDGER

 

The first thing you hear here is a radio friendly rock sound. A pure pop rock intro kicks the album in motion. The voice from Terry is still top notch, but he isn’t the animal anymore that sang “Face Down In The Gutter” from the mighty XYZ.  But don’t get me wrong, it’s still a pleasure to listen to the voice from Mr. Ilous. Another pleasure for the ears are the guitar solos on this album. In every song I’m waiting for that moment! “Good To Be Home” has a bluesy touch and Terry’s voice fits like a glove to this style. Dance beats start up “Don’t Push Me” but when this song truly starts with that powerful chorus it becomes a real highlight on this album. “Without a Sound” is a great bluesy ballad with some relaxing steel guitar and I even could spot a triangle! “Free” is a happy radio rock song with a great acoustic guitar and a U2 riff in it. This slows down with the acoustic ballad “Live For The Moment” where Terry’s vocals are truly amazing. This song also shows some African inspired percussion and simply (but effective) piano. The Hammond organ gives “On The Edge” another style and Terry sings here a lower tone. “How Long” is the heaviest track on the album. A strong soaring riff and a more ‘angry’ singing Terry are the main ingredients here. Terry shows what he can do with his voice on the piano ballad “Gonna get Better”.  The album closes with the well known Dio song “Heaven and Hell”. Glen uses some additional background sounds and adds some keys. This revamp version from this classic is actually very well done and Terry shows here that his vocal chords are still powerful and strong.

 Tracklist:

  1. Tuesday Afternoon
  2. How Long
  3. On The Edge
  4. Don’t Push Me
  5. Without A Sound
  6. Free
  7. Live For The Moment
  8. Good To Be Home
  9. Gonna Get Better
  10. Once In A Lifetime
  11. Heaven And Hell (Tribute To Ronnie James DIo)

Conclusion:
This is not a bad album, but it struggles with the many styles it holds. More songs like the rocking “Don’t Push Me” and the fresh “Free” would made this a more consistent album. But besides that the vocals from Terry are amazing and the solos from Glen are a treat for every guitar lover.

Links:

REVIEW WRITTEN BY RIK BAUTERS

 

 


UPDATE 2 !Drie doden en meer dan 40 gewonden op Pukkelpop door noodweer

Op het festival Pukkelpop zijn vandaag door het noodweer meerdere tenten ingestort.
Onder meer de Chateau tent waar op dat moment meer dan 1000 mensen aanwezig waren is ingestort. Volgens de organisatie zijn er momenteel 3 doden en meer dan 40 gewonden. 

Meer informatie is onder meer te vinden op:  http://www.stubru.be/media/rampweeroverpukkelpop

 

Update:  De organisatie heeft een noodnummer vrijgegeven: +32 11239711.

update 2 : Helaas is het dodental vannacht tot 5 personen gestegen. Vanochtend heeft de organisatie op hun site geplaatst dat het festival is stopgezet.

 http://www.pukkelpop.be/nl/blog/pukkelpop-2011-stopgezet/

Wij van livereviewer wensen alle slachtoffers en nabestaanden veel sterkte! 


Nergal (Behemoth) vrijgesproken van godslastering.
Nergal van Behemoth is in Polen vrijgesproken!. De frontman moest voorkomen voor het verscheuren van een bijbel en die vervolgens in het publiek gooide. Vervolgens noemde hij de bijbel misleidend en de katholieke kerk een criminele instelling.  Mede door getuigen uit het publiek ,die verklaarde dat zij zich niet beledigd voelen, is Nergal nu van al deze onzin vrijgesproken. 

Interview with Micheal Ehré from Love.Might.Kill

Brace for Impact is een parel van een debuut album van de mannen van Love Might Kill.
Met onder meer een  zwaargewicht  als Micheal Ehré (Firewind) in het geleder , kon dit project ook niet falen. Uiteraard pakte ik een kans om hem een paar vragen te stellen met beide handen aan.  

 

First of all congrats with the strong debut album: Brace For Impact.
How are the reactions so far on this splendid album?
Michael Ehré: Thank you! The reactions are fantastic. We get mails from all around the world and we are really overwhelmed because we didn´t expect that.

Can you introduce Love.Might.Kill to our readers and describe in a few words what the band stands for?
M.E.: Besides me on the drums Love.Might.Kill is singer Jan Manenti along with Stefan Ellerhorst and Christian Stöver (both ex-Crossroads) on guitars. On bass we have Jogi Sweers and our newest bandmember is Sascha Onnen (ex-Mob Rules) on keyboards. Our style is something in between hard-rock and melodic-metal. Our main goal is to have good melodies combined with heavy-guitar-riffing and groovy power-drumming.

When and how did the band got formed?
M.E.: I started the band a few years ago when I was working on some demos that didn´t fit into the styles of the other bands I´m playing with. In 2009 I met our Italian singer Jan Manenti when I was touring with ex-Europe-guitarist Kee Marcello in Italy. He joined us for one track on stage that night and I immediately knew that Jan would be the right guy for LMK. So I sent him my tracks and he put on some vocal-melodies. That´s how it started. We soon recognized that we will make a good album and so I started to put a band together.

 

Which bands did influence the sound of LMK ?
M.E.: In my opinion our sound was mainly influenced by bands like Whitesnake, DIO, Rainbow, Judas Priest and Accept. As I said before we tried to combine heavy music with good and catchy vocal-melodies.

The new album is out now. Is there a song on the new album which stands out  for you and why?
M.E.: That´s hard to say. We have uptempo songs, midtempo songs  and we also have some really heavy slow tracks. So every song on the album is different but still the record sounds like a unit. If I have to choose one song I would probably choose the opening track “Tomorrow never comes”. The track is very dynamic, melodic and groovy.

 

This band is formed from several members from different bands. Does this mean we must see Love.Might.Kill as a side project ?
M.E.: No, LMK is no side project at all! The fact that some of us play in other bands does not automatically mean that we´re not a real band. The thing is that if you´re a musician nowadays you can´t make a living of playing in just one band. Except you´re playing in a real big band. But usually you have to do different stuff to survive. But this is also a good thing because you´re not stucked into just one band and one style what can be really boring over the years. If you´re playing in different bands with different styles (like I do) it´s always exciting and it keeps you fresh!

With members coming out two different country’s ( Italy /Germany ) is it hard to shape a tour?
M.E.: No, this is not a big problem. Flights are not so expensive nowadays.

I´m sure I wouldn't have found a singer like Jan in the area where I´m living. So I´m really glad he´s in the band and for me it´s not a problem whether he´s living in Germany or Italy. And Italy is not that far away.

Speaking of touring are there some future plans for a tour?
M.E.: Yes. We already played some shows and we´re booking some more shows for November. Maybe we´ll do a tour in spring 2012 as a support for a bigger band. But I can´t tell any details right now as this is not confirmed yet.

 

I really dig the artwork from this album, can you tell us more about the artist who made it and is there any meaning behind this artwork?
M.E.: The artwork was made by a good friend of mine: Nikolas Fritz. Nikolas is not only a fantastic artist but also a fantastic drummer. He´s playing in Mob Rules, which are really good friends of mine. If you take a look at the artwork you will recognize a connection to the bandname. There is this girl who holds this kind of stone that looks like a stone from a grave. Maybe she buried a person she loved (“Love”) and tries to protect (“Might”) him from the things that are going on around her as you can see that the land is destroyed (“Kill”).

How does the songwriting in the band evolve? Is it a one man writing progress or is it a whole band work-out ?
M.E.: As I said in the beginning it all started with my demos, so I wrote all the music and most of the lyrics for “Brace for impact”, while Jan composed all the fantastic vocal-melodies. I´m sure now that we have a band the other guys will also be involved in the songwriting for the next record. I know that Stefan, Christian, Sascha and Jogi will have a strong impact on our second album.

Thanks for answering these questions. Is there anything you wish to share with our readers?
M.E.: I´d like to thank all the people for reading this interview and supporting LMK! Stay metal!

More info:  http://www.lovemightkill.com

Interviewer: Ronald van de Baan 


LIVEREPORT: WATERPOP 2011

 

De naam van dit festival had niet toepasselijker kunnen zijn. Vrijwel de gehele dag was er een grote opkomst aan plassende engeltjes.  Maar ondanks een donker bewolkte hemel met vooral veel regen was er aan menselijk publiek ook geen verkeerde opkomst. En dat is ook niet zo verwonderlijk bij een gratis festival met ook nog een zeer uitstekende line-up. Er zat voor een ieder wat wils bij. Naast een drietal podia, liepen er ook diverse theateracts over het terrein.  En voor de bezoeker die de centen rijkelijk wilde laten vloeien waren er ook nog diverse kraampjes. Maar na uren in de regen, en zeiknat, was de lol er voor ons op een gegeven moment wel af. Dus hebben we de laatste twee bands gelaten voor wat het is. 

 

De eerste band die wij mochten aanschouwen wasCandybar Planet”. Knallend met een behoorlijk heavy sound, waar vooral de bassist duidelijk naar voren kwam. De vocalen waren rauw en niet verkeerd, alleen neigde het naar schreeuwen. Het had veel weg van“Alice in Chains”. Helaas klonk alles wel veelal hetzelfde.

Na deze band kwam “Kensington” ons verblijden met een optreden. Deze band zit muzikaal goed in elkaar, en is duidelijk goed op elkaar ingespeeld. Speciaal zijn de tweestemmige nummers. Toch kon ik niet echt warm lopen voor dit optreden, aangezien er op de automatische piloot werd gespeeld, en de muziek vrij monotoon in het gehoor lag.

 

Hierna speelde “Hooverphonic” , dit electropop bandje met ook nog enkele bekende nummers speelde een strakke set. De zangeres heeft zeker geen verkeerde stem, en het klinkt allemaal heel professioneel.

Op de kleine tent aan de overkant speelde het alom gewaardeerde ‘Shaking Godspeed”. Waar veel van onze trouwe lezers inmiddels wel kunnen dromen van mijn schrijfwerk over deze heren blijft het toch makkelijk om er telkens wat nieuws over te schrijven. Precies wat onze hoofdredactie zo mooi verwoorde: Waar andere bands een regendans doen, blaast Shaking Godspeed de regen gewoon weg. Er wordt weer de volle 100 % gegeven, zelfs na een week hard buffelen op onder andere het Sziget festival. Wat een energie, en wat een wederom strakke set.

Op het grote podium begon daarna “Phantom Four & The Arguido”. Tijdens de aftrap van het eerste nummer staat de frontman al te stuiteren, en de band vuurt strakke ritmische nummers op het publiek af. De nummers liggen makkelijk in het gehoor en binnen no-time staat het halve festivalterrein voor het podium geparkeerd. Nice.

 

Hierna begint op het podium ernaast “Vanderbuyst”. Deze foute rockers spelen zo ongeveer een thuiswedstrijd en dat is te merken. Ze hebben er zin in. De sfeer is erg gemoedelijk en de nummers klinken weer even strak als altijd. Gitarist Willem Verbuyst blijft een plezier voor oog en oor. Dit is helaas wel een band die na meerdere live optredens lichtelijk gaat vervelen. De muziek bevat net niet voldoende afwisseling om te blijven intrigeren.


Aan de overzijde begint vervolgens  Jon Amor Blues Group” met zijn set. Deze uit de UK afkomstige muzikanten hebben makkelijk in het gehoor liggende muziek met toch dat heerlijke bluesy ondertoontje. En hier en daar een even heerlijke gitaarsolo. Een leuk en haast swingend optreden, waar spontaan het zonnetje (weliswaar zwak) van begint te schijnen. Leuk om te weten dat deze heren ons land nog met een eervol bezoek gaan verblijden in het najaar aldus de zanger van dit bonte gezelschap.

 

Tot slot voor ons deze prachtige waterige dag speelde “Balthazar” op het hoofdpodium. Deze uit België afkomstige band had ik vorige week al mogen aanschouwen op het Dranouter festival. De muziek is erg creatief en ligt  tijdens dit tweede live optreden wat ik van ze zie nog prettiger in het gehoor. Daarnaast viel me op dat er de nodige instrumenten werden gebruikt om het sound aan te sterken. Een goede band, die zeker is aan te raden.

En hierna was voor ons het moment gekomen om weer een uurtje in de auto terug te rijden op weg naar een heerlijke warme douche. Want wat kun je daar naar verlangen na zo’n dag. Hopelijk is Waterpop volgend jaar wat minder waterig. Maar het mocht de pret niet drukken.

REPORT GESCHREVEN DOOR TAGGI EENSTROOM
FOTO'S GEMAAKT DOOR MIRJA SCHRIJVER
 


TOBY HITCHCOCK – MERCURY’S DOWN FRONTIERS RECORDS – OUT ON 26.08. 2011

Toby was born in Kokomo, Indiana and got worldwide recognition as the great vocalist from Pride of Lions. Together with founding member Jim Peterik they released three albums and appeared live at the Lokerse Feesten in Belgium. That performance can be seen entirely on the DVD “Live In Belgium”. When Pride of Lions took a small hiatus the time was right for Toby to work on some solo stuff. Frontiers Records suggested Toby to hook up with Swedish songwriter and producer Erik Martensson (Eclipse, W.E.T.). The result of that collaboration can be heard on “Mercury’s Down”.

Toby Hitchcock is:

  • Toby Hitchcock – vocals
  • Erik Martensson – guitars, bass, keyboards, drums
  • Magnus Ulfstedt – drums
  • Magnus Henriksson – lead guitar
  • Miquael Persson – backing vocals

MERCURY’S DOWN


A smooth guitar riff kicks in and then the powerful voice from Toby cries out and the next riffs are a lot more heavier than I expected. The opening track immediately brings you in melodic heaven where Toby holds the scepter. He sings here: “This is the moment, this is where love dies”, but my love for this music can only grow by such a quality song. What a killer track this is. The swirling guitar work from Erik is a treat to the ears. In 2009 I was blown away by the debut album from W.E.T. and this platter from Toby does exactly the same. The combination of the sharp guitar sound, Roby’s hugely power vocals and the complementary role of the keys makes this songs strong as a rock. The vocal build up in “How To Stop” hits my soft spot each and every time I listen to this track. Tears fall down my cheeks. Damn, it's been a very long time since a song made me so emotional. It must have been the album “Vital Signs” from Survivor who had the same effect on me (and still does!). Coincidence or not but Toby’s Pride of Lions partner in crime Jim Peterik  was in that Survivor line-up. One thing is for sure I don’t wanna know how to stop loving this kinda music. The keys intro from “Let Go” reminds me of Queen’s “The Show Must Go On”. The combination of the pumping riffs and the happy sounding keys are the perfect mates by the super emotional vocals by Toby. As a bonus at this party you get some supersonic guitars. Toby is the absolute master of the game during the big ballad “One Day I’ll Stop Loving You”.

I won’t continue this review as a track by track because I would only be repeating myself and fall back to the same comparisons. I just want to mention the over the top chorus in  “I Should Have Said” and the crunchy contagious riff in “Summer Nights In Cabo”.  The last tracks on this album makes that the album gets a perfect score from me. “Tear Down The Barricades” is a hell of a monster track. Fast and furious guitars, kick drums and Toby in top shape. The song has some similarities with the first killer albums from Talisman. The following track “A Different Drum” is another monster of rock with that same Talisman and W.E.T. feel to it. The title track is a ball full of energy with again great guitars from Erik. They even made me think about “The Keepers..” album from Helloween for a brief moment.

Tracklist:

  1. This Is The Moment
  2. Strong Enough
  3. How To Stop
  4. Let Go
  5. One Day I’ll Stop Loving YOu
  6. I Should Have Said
  7. If It’s To Be (It’s Up To Me)
  8. Just Say Goodbye
  9. Summer Nights In Cabo
  10. Tear Down The Barricades
  11. A Different Drum
  12. Mercury’s Down

Conclusion:
This album made my wildest dreams come true. I was expecting a lot from Toby’s solo album, but what we get here is the answer to the prayer from every melodic rock fan. A bunch of crunchy guitars, fabulous vocals from Toby, catchy and contagious choruses and a powerful sound. Album of the year for me, no doubt about it! I’ll hope Toby comes to Belgium next year to bring these songs live on stage at The Lokerse Feesten. I’ll spam organizer Luk De Roover with mails until he confirms that Toby is on the bill!!

Links:

REVIEW WRITTEN BY: RIK BAUTERS

 

 


BOGUSLAW BALCERAK'S CRYLORD SIGN TO LION MUSIC

Exploding out of Poland comes a new powerhouse of metal. Lion Music are delighted to welcome Boguslaw Balcerak’s Crylord to the labels roster and will release the bands debut album "Blood Of The Prophets" on 14th October 2011.

Led by the prestigious talents of guitarist Boguslaw Balcerak, "Blood Of The Prophets" breathes new life into the neo-classical genre with 12 first class songs chock full of big riffs, dynamic rhythms, jaw dropping guitar solos and infectious vocal melodies from 3 of the most acclaimed vocalist in the field - Carsten ‘Lizard’ Schulz (Evidence One, ex Domain) and neo-classical legends Mark Boals (ex Malmsteen / Ring Of Fire) and Goran Edman (ex Malmsteen / Brazen Abbot / Time Requiem).

A preview album sampler mp3 can be heard at http://soundcloud.com/lionmusicrecordlabel/boguslaw-balceraks-crylord

Full information on the album to follow shortly and be sure to look out for the promotional video for the track "Warriors Moon" coming soon!

 


LIVEREPORT: SWASHBUCKLE @ THE LITTLE DEVIL, TILBURG

Bringing terror to every cruise ship that passes their path, drinking ‘till the ale is gone and makin’ sure we get our doses of pirate metal! The pirates of Swashbuckle returned once again to the Netherlands.

I started off my journey towards the city of Tilburg in my car. Dumped it behind the building of the 013 and thought it wasn’t that far a walk. Yeah…but it is when you’re walking all the way around…
Once I finally got at Little Devil I saw a lot of people outside. I figured it would be very crowded.
I met up with friends and decided it was time to go inside and meet up with the pirates!

Once I got in the back I noticed it wasn’t crowded at all! Too bad cause it was a hell of a show!
But the Little Devil is of course a bar. And for a bar the turn up wasn’t all that bad. It was a very sociable crowd.
Some techno music was on and the pirates came dancing on stage. Once the music stopped the pirates grabbed their instruments and started to play some brutal pirate metal.
The crowd loved every minute of it and believe it or not there actually was a very small, but still very awesome, mosh pit!

After a couple of songs Admiral Nobeard paused to take a drink, when the people started singing ‘BIER EN TIETEN’ (BEER AND TITS). Of course he likes ‘em both so the pirates threw in a little tune that matched pretty well with the song.

But it was time to go on with more pirate metal! The music thrashed, as did the few people in the mosh pit. Then came one song with a story. Admiral Nobeard told us about what happened to him during this tour. The band stayed in Germany and the Admiral had to take a dump. While taking this dump he broke the toilet! And since they are awesome pirates, they wrote a song about it! Now that’s inspiration!

The last few songs were almost done when the Admiral said he wanted to see a wall of death. And don’t think he didn’t! The Dutch are crazy mofo’s and they proved it once again! No matter how small the venue is, a wall of death you want? A wall of death thou shall have!

But unfortunately all good things come to an end. Even if it is way too fast! And so did the amazing concert of Swashbuckle. After they were done with packing we had a few drinks with the Admiral but he had to go eventually.

I can honestly say this gig was full of fun, metal and damn pirates! Swashbuckle; be sure to cross the sea and come back soon! All the people who didn’t show up; TIME TO WALK THE PLANK!

Review by: Jupiter Darkshadow


RHAPSODY OF FIRE’S FRIENDLY SPLIT
After 15 years of friendship, hard work and big passion, fully invested in the creation of symphonic music and an epic saga that will remain in the history of heavy metal, Alex Staropoli and Luca Turilli decided to proceed to a friendly split.

“10 albums released and the end of the saga represent, musically and lyrically, an important artistic goal finally reached, underlined by the success of our last release “From Chaos To Eternity”, for which we want to thank our wonderful fans once again. Now it came the time when new artistic stimulations need to be found, in respect of both parts’ visions and perspectives and of our longtime friendship” say Luca and Alex.

Due to the latest legal agreements actually in force, Alex Staropoli will go on with RHAPSODY OF FIRE having, between the others, Fabio Lione as singer, Tom Hess as guitar player and Alex Holzwarth as drummer.

For the same agreements and the original name’s common ownership, Luca Turilli will release his future works with a new RHAPSODY band, including the faithful band members Dominique Leurquin, Patrice Guers and Alex Holzwarth.


 

Alex says: “While wishing the best to Luca and his new band, I want to tell you that Fabio and myself feel motivated and stronger than ever and that RHAPSODY OF FIRE are already planning a great worldwide tour. More information regarding the new bass player and the new second guitar player will follow. Stay tuned!”

The website www.rhapsodyoffire.com will remain the glorious RHAPSODY OF FIRE website at all effects and www.algalordchronicles.com the official fan club of RHAPSODY OF FIRE only.

In the future, if you want to know more about the new band of Luca Turilli, please check his personal website at www.lucaturilli.com


Adam Bomb needs help!

Recentelijk heeft Claire de vrouw van Adam Bomb haar strijd tegen kanker verloren.

Als dat al niet erg genoeg is dreigt Adam nu de voogdij over zijn jongste dochter Blaise kwijt te raken.
Hieronder volgt een boodschap van deze grote rocker, waar je kunt lezen hoe jij kunt helpen!

Adam Bomb:
OK, I could use your help. I am in deep shit. Maybe you can help me out a bit. If enough of you bought a CD from us, I might not lose everything so quickly. Overnight I became a single parent. The lawyers are freezing all accounts and forcing me to go under so I will lose my daughter to social services. It's going to be very difficult for me to carry on my job touring without proving I can make a living to lawyers who are trying to take everything. I don't know if rock n roll can save me from this one. But I will see if any of you really are friends enough to try to and help pull me out of a dangerous situation for a few months until I can reorganize from this tragedy. Just buy a CD. Do it for Blaise.

YOU can now purchase online the whole AB catalogue! A CD lasts forever, if you get tired you can always sell it or trade it, it costs only 20 bucks and WE pay for the shipping, not YOU!! Not to mention that you are gonna help your fav band buying gas and gettin back on the road to play the bar next door!! what are you waiting for? get a CD at  http://bombita.altervista.org/2011/


TOMMY STINSON: 'GUNS N' ROSES Has Been Nothing But A Good Gig For Me For 12 Years Now'
Nick Cristiano of www.philly.com recently spoke to former THE REPLACEMENTS and current GUNS N' ROSES/SOUL ASYLUM bassist Tommy Stinson about the musician's new album, "One Man Mutiny", which is due out later this month.

On playing with GUNS N' ROSES and SOUL ASYLUM:

"SOUL ASYLUM, I've known those guys since we all went to school together, Dave [Pirner, SOUL ASYLUM frontman] and I anyway. They're good guys and we have a good time playing together. That's more a labor of love. GUNS is a different thing in that it's a bunch of guys that come from all walks of life put together in this musical soup, and it has a whole different thing going on. It's more of a collaborative band thing — when we write, anyway. GUNS has been nothing but a good gig for me for 12 years now. I started it with no expectations. I didn't think it would last 12 years, but here I am."

On "One Man Mutiny" and whether he will perform THE REPLACEMENTS songs on his current solo tour:

"I don't ever veer too far from my roots. That's pretty obvious here. 

"It seems kind of foolish for me to get up there and sing some of Paul's [Westerberg, THE REPLACEMENTS leader] songs, even though I played on them, too. You don't see Keith Richards going out on a solo tour and playing [THE ROLLING] STONES songs other than the ones he sang on."

On THE REPLACEMENTS' legacy 20 years after the band's demise:

"I'm totally proud of it. I've got no regrets about it. We left a good mark. For better or worse, we stuck to our guns for the most part and stayed true to ourselves. I wouldn't go back. It was pretty . . . brutal. But I have fond memories of it. It was a good life."

Read the entire interview at www.philly.com.

Podium Indiana State Fair ingestort. update video

Tijdens een concert in de Amerikaanse stad Indianapolis in de staat Indiana zijn zaterdagavond zeker vier doden gevallen doordat een podium instortte. Zeker veertig mensen raakten gewond en zijn naar het ziekenhuis vervoerd.

De stellage zou zijn ingestort door harde windstoten. Volgens ooggetuigen lagen er mensen onder de stukken van het podium. Hulpdiensten gingen met groot materieel ter plaatse.

Het podium was leeg toen het instortte. Het optreden van hoofdact, het countryduo Sugarland, stond op het punt van beginnen. Het concert was onderdeel van de Indiana State Fair, waar vele duizenden mensen op af waren gekomen.

 

Bron ANP / http://www.ad.nl


SUN CAGED – THE LOTUS EFFECT - LION MUSIC – OUT NOW

Deze Nederlandse progressievelingen debuteerden in 2003 met hun debuutplaat en dit album kreeg 4 jaar later een vervolg met “Artemesia”. Sommige van de nummers dateren reeds van 2008 en de opnamen van het instrumentale gedeelte begonnen al op het einde van datzelfde jaar. Paul werkte aan de teksten, maar dit werd vertraagd door familiale gebeurtenissen. Ook werd er lang gezocht naar een nieuwe bassist. Maar uiteindelijk kregen ze het album af en dit werd verpakt met een geweldig staaltje van artwork.

Sun Caged is:

  • Marcel Coenen – guitars
  • René Kroon – keys
  • Daniel Kohn – bass
  • Roel van Helden – drums
  • Paul Adrian Villarreal – vocals

THE LOTUS EFFECT

 

Blastbeats en deathmetal riffs tijdens de intro van “Seamtripper” doen me enigzins schrikken voor wat er verder gaat volgen. Maar al snel vliegen allerlei riffs je rond de oren en na een rustiger piano gedreven gedeelte geselt Marcel zijn gitaar op een ongeëvenaarde manier. Dit is toch een schromelijk onderschatte snarenplukker. Paul bezit een heldere en duidelijke stem die zich uitstekend in het vel voelt bij deze explosieve muziek. Vingervlug soleerwerk en de flitsende keyboardsolo vormen het hoogtepunt van “Tip-Toethe Fault-Line”. Al moet geciteerd worden dat die straffe riff en dat beukend drumwerk ook een aardige duit in de zak doen. “Ashes To Ear” had eigenlijk op een vroeger Dream Theater album kunnen staan. De piano intro lijkt sterk op “Wait for Sleep” en de invallende riff kon eigenlijk van Petrucci zelf zijn. Maar als je nu eenmaal progmetal maakt is een goed raakpunt met Dream Theater zeker geen minpunt te noemen. Huilende gitaren en stemvervorming bij de vleet tijdens “Shades of Hades, waarin trouwens een verrassend funky basslijntje verscholen zit. “Reductio ad Absurdum” vormt het rustpunt van het album en hier licht de focus natuurlijk op de stemcapriolen van David. Maar de lange Steve Vai geïnspireerde gitaarsolo staat dan weer in schitterend contrast met dit kalme werkstukje. Alle registers worden weer opengetrokken tijdens “On Again / Off Again”. De piano staan weer haaks op de lekker hakkende agressieve riffs. Middenin worden we aangenaam verrast door een Oosters klinkende keyboard solo en bij de aansluitende solo heeft Marcel duidelijk de mosterd bij Yngwie Malmsteen gehaald. Dit nummer sluit het eerste deel van dit album af. Vervolgens krijgen we een 24 minuten durend nummer voorgeschoteld, dat weilswaar opgebouwd is uit 8 stukken. In dit geweldig epos worden we bedolven met een veelvoud van gevoelens en speltechniek. Zo wordt er gestart met gevoelige zang en ontmoeten we Ayreon geïnspireerde toetsen die vergezeld worden door sterk trillende basslijnen en een emotievolle solo in echte Satriani stijl. In “Parasol” hoor je enkel piano, wat drumwerk en de gevoelige stem van Daniel. “Wave the Banner” schudt je vervolgens wakker met zijn pure progmetalriffs. Het geniale instrumentaaltje “Moebius Knot” bevat gitaarwerk om je vingers bij af te likken. Super agressieve riffs, een onverwacht grappig pianolijntje en een duel tussen de toetsen en het neoklassiek geïnspireerde gitaarspel van Marcel dolen rond in je hoofd. Het slotnummer bevat verschillende lagen zang. Ik ben altijd een fan geweest van deze techniek die ik voor het eerst hoorde tijdens het wereldnummer “Chance” van Savatage. Dit alles is omgeven door uiterst gevoelige gitaarstukken en de piano vult elk aanwezig gaatje netjes op.

Tracklist:

  1. Seamtripper (& The Blanket Statement)
  2. Tip-Toe the Fault-Line
  3. Ashes To Ear
  4. Shades of Hades
  5. Reductio ab Absurdum
  6. On Again / Off Again
  7. Lotus Ashtamangala
    The 8 Auspicious Symbols
  8. Pareidolized (The Ocean in the Shell)
  9. Parasol
  10. Wave the Banner
  11. Fish Afraid of Drowning
  12. Moebius Knot (instrumental)
  13. Full Circle
  14. Let it Wash Away (The Lotus Effect)

Conclusie:
Deze derde langspeler vervult al mijn verwachtingen. De lange complexe songs met veel spitsvondige wendingen boeien elke seconde en voor je er erg in hebt is het album voorbij. The Lotus effect is een wetenschappelijke term voor het feit dat het bladoppervlak van de lotusbloem een zelfreinigende eigenschap vertoont. Water dringt niet in het oppervlak maar blijft gewoon als parels over het oppervlak rollen. Ik kan stellen dat deze muziek eigenlijk wel het omgekeerde met me doet. De muziek dringt door tot in je diepste gevoelens, maar het wast wel je dagelijkse zorgen van je af. Dus mission accomplished zou ik zeggen.

Links:

 

Geschreven door Rik Bauters. 

 

 


GREYLEVEL – HYPOSTATIC UNION - PROGROCK RECORDS – OUT NOW

Deze Candadese progressieve rockers zijn ontstaan als een solo studio project. Stilletjes aan werd echter een hele band gevormd en in 2006 werd hun debuutalbum “Opus On” uitgebracht. ProgRock Records zag wel brood in deze band en bracht hun debuut internationaal uit in januari 2007.  “Hypostatic Union” is hun tweede album dat op dat zelfde label verschijnt.

Greylevel is:

  • Derek Barber – vocals, rhythm guitars and keyboards
  • Richard Shukin – rhythm and lead guitars
  • Esther Barber – vocals
  • Davis Friesen – bass
  • Tyler Friesen drums and percussion

VARIOUS ARTISTS – EMBRACE THE SUN - LION MUSIC – OUT NOW

The foreword here is taken from Lion Music’s official site!

Dedicated to the victims of the Tsunami and Earthquake that struck Japan in March 2011. All artists and composers as well the record label and publishing company are donating their profits from the material included to the victims in hope of a better world. All profits will be donated to the Japan Red Cross.

We thank all involved for taking the time to give a little back to those that have lost so much in the aftermath of devastation in Japan. The response was simply overwhelming and we are proud to present this double CD 28 track album featuring many of the most popular acts on the Lion Music roster, along with some extra special guests.

All artists that appear on this benefit album have in most cases written and recorded their songs especially for ‘Embrace The Sun’, and in a number of cases these tracks represent the first recorded output with new band line-ups i.e. Ashent (new vocalist Titta Tani), Astra (new vocalist Andrea Casali), Venturia (new vocalist Florine Acquisto and drummer Frédéric Marchal) and Iron Mask (new vocalist Carsten ‘Lizard’ Schulz and drummer Ramy Ali).

EMBRACE THE SUN – The Lion Music Japan benefit project!

 

This double album kicks off with some female fronted neoclassical metal from Lars Eric Mattsson, who also did the production, the mastering and the compiling of this project. There is a lot of variation on these two albums, which makes them very interesting. You’ll find some guitar orientated melodic rock from Milan Polak. Milan is joined by some special guests in guitarists Peter Lesperance (Harem Scarem) and Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal (Guns N’ Roses), whilst Kip Winger (Winger) performs bass guitar and drums come from Dennis Leeflang (Bumblefoot/Lita Ford) and the track is completed by backing vocals from Harry Hess (Harem Scarem). There is some progressive metal from Dreyelands (with guitars that howl like John Petrucci’s). “Disappearance” from Ashent is a more progrock track. A few acoustic based tracks, such as the ones from Grönholm and Mindsplit. Marco Sfogli (from James Labrie’s solo project) brings an instrumental where the guitars are inspired by the great Joe Satriani. Mastercastle offers some female fronted power metal with “Sakura”. Infinity Overture brings neoclassical metal with female vocals and adds a few screams and grunts to that package! The direct influence of the aftermath in Japan can be heard on Jennifer Batten’s track “Sakura Season”. It was written after her visit to the country in April 2011. This fine piece of music only contains acoustic guitar! There is even a warrior song from Emir Hot with a neoclassical feel. Ventura brings a more modern sound with female vocals. In three tracks, the piano is the main instrument. Those tracks come from Mistheria, Status Minor and Tomorrow’s Eve. Completely different is the 70’s rock from Mastermind.  I’m very pleased with the fact that this compilation holds a great AOR track from Astra, with awesome keyboards in the break. The Iron Mask song “Sons of the Sun” has a Scottish vibe and not only harvests great guitars from Dushan Petrossi, but also amazing vocals from new member Carsten ‘Lizard’ Schulz. To emphasize that Scottish feel they’ve incorporated some choir singing. Winterlong surprises with a guitar solo in true Malmsteen style! The closing track “Embrace The Sun” from The Lions is in fact one big and long guitar and keyboard solo spot. You’ll hear solo’s from Milan Polak, Francesco Fareri, Daniel Palmqvist (Murder of my Sweet), Simone Fiorletta (No Gravity), Dave Martone, Borislav Mitic, Franck Ribie (Double Heart Project) and Lars Eric Mattsson.

Tracklist:

Disc 1

01. Mattsson – Mother

02. Milan Polak – End Of Time

03. Anthriel – Circle Of Life

04. Airless – Second Chance

05. Dreyelands – Life Is Worth The Pain

06. Ashent - Disappearance

07. Mastercastle - Sakura

08. Locomotive Breath - Rise Up (Perspective of The Common Man)

09. Grönholm - Believe

10. Marco Sfogli - Stand Alone

11. Mindsplit - Guardian Angel

12. Missing Tide - Falling

13. Infinity Overture - Do You Care?

14. Jennifer Batten - Sakura Season

Disc 2

01. Overdrive - New Beginning (Arata Na Staato)

02. Emir Hot - Fear of the Storm

03. Venturia - On the Brink

04. Mistheria - Kibou

05. Section A - Survive

06. Status Minor - Drama

07. Mastermind - Time Stands Still

08. Tomorrow's Eve - Black Barren Lands

09. Iron Mask - Sons of the Sun

10. Astra - Voice from Within

11. Benny Jansson- Savior

12. Early Cross - Cairn

13. Winterlong - Failed Connection

14. The Lions - Embrace the Sun

Conclusion:
This compilation covers a huge amount of styles from the metal corner. So everyone must find a few songs to their likings. That you support a good case when you buy this double platter is a nice bonus! So show your shining metal heart and hurry up and get a copy. You won’t be disappointed.

Links:

·         www.lionmusic.com

·         www.facebook.com/lionmusicjapanbenefit

 

WRITTEN BY: RIK BAUTERS 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


PHOTOREPORT: STONEHENGE FESTIVAL 2011 BY PETER VAN RIJSBERGEN

FOR MORE PHOTO'S CLICK ON PICTURE

PHOTOGRAPHER: PETER VAN RIJSBERGEN


LIVEREPORT: STONEHENGE 2011

This was my first time on Stonehenge and I know it won’t be my last…It is not a very large festival when it comes to square meters but that, and the underground base gives it a nice charm. I definitely want to go there again. When we arrived we were just in time to see the first band, Braincasket, and all I can say is that they were a great band to start up with. I was getting in the mood, got my brewski, and enjoyed looking at the luscious long hair banging on stage. Nice grunting and I liked the songs like ‘ Shower in Blood’. The people around me obviously needed to warm up a bit, but hey it was still early. After that it was time for me to take a look at the merchandise… wishing I could spend more money on it like we all do.

Around the time Disintegrate started to play, more and more metalheads were entering the festivalgrounds. Their music is best defined as a clash between melody and metal and they sure knew how to warm us up in an aggressive yet melodic way. When they started playing the song ‘ Iniuria’ I was surprised by the raw death but it was just a darn shame the vocals didn’t come out as they should due to the lack of volume (mic was too soft) But that didn’t spoil the fun.

When Dictated, another Dutch band started, my stomach was having it’s own death metal fest and it was growling like the best so I decided to check out a couple of songs and eat something afterwards to satisfy my needs and grab a beer. From the songs I did hear I can tell you this band loves to be on stage! Their energetic performance was great. Word up for the drums.

Next stop… Finland. Sotajamula takin over the stage! These Finnish ‘ Gods of War’ really kicked ass! A lot of power on the stage, people getting loose, hair flying by…let the moshpit begin. This was my first time seeing them on stage and yes they blew me away! Time to head back inside to the second stage for Fumes of decay, enjoy moshing and make my bud get more beer. Pretty hot in there. They were brutal and with my ears almost popped out of my head after their wall of sound I went outside again to see Vanderbuyst. They were good fun but different from the bands so far. More hardrock less metal but a welcome diversion after the previous two bands. We enjoyed dancing around a bit and they are really a live band, very energetic. Thumbs up! Its hard not to smile and enjoy some kick ass speedy solo’s. Fun fun fun!

Time to head back inside again and sweat some more because Ethereal is playing inside and I got one word for them…Wow! All I could think was ‘why the hell do you guys have to play inside??’ They really deserved to play on the main stage because they were bloody awesome! The riffs, the synths…rawr. Well done!

Then it was time to go see the band I came for, the Danish boys from Panzerchrist. Let me mosh guys! As soon as they started with one of their new songs ‘Ode to the clusterbomb’ people started moshing and crowdsurfing. A wheelchair flew by… guys sliding through the mud…people havin loads of fun. I was a little disappointed they only played 40 minutes (come on guys you are not that old!!) sand some of the riffs were missing due to technical difficulties with their guitar.

Sorry guys, after two songs by Facebreaker it was time for me to eat and relax a bit. But from what I heard it was facebreakin deathmetal allright! Awesome name for a band by the way…

With a happy stomach we headed for the main stage again to see Decapitated. What can I say..they give you what you want. Moshing, bashing, smashing, loud aggressive riffs and awesome vocals. Now I know why I came to this festival! Awesome show!!! These Polish guys know how to satisfy a metalhead.

Inside, Severe Torture is playing and meanwhile I spot a sofa in the corner…mine mine mine! My tired feet get some well deserved rest as I listen to the music filling my ears.  Not torture at all! Our tiny country has a fair share of awesome metal bands and this is certainly one of them. Im still relaxing on the sofa with my friends thinkin ‘Could this day get any better?’ When its already time to go and see the last band, Misery Inex. Time to get my lazy ass off the sofa and head outside into the dark. The crowd goes wild as the drums and vocals roar across the festival like an unstoppable salvo of sound. Great show you guys! Time for the afterparty but I decide to skip it because I have a long drive home ahead of me.. Thank you Stonehenge for one awesome day and see you next year!!! Just make the loud screamer on stage announcing the bands wear different pants.

Written by:  Debby du Mortier


LIVEREPORT: DRANOUTER FESTIVAL ( 6 AUGUSTUS)

Locatie: Dranouter, België
Datums: 4, 5, 6, 7 augustus 2011
Livereviewer was aanwezig op zaterdag 6 augustus 2011

Een onverwacht festivalbezoek tijdens een weekend op visite, dat was wel een heel bijzondere ervaring. Waar ik bij voorbaat nog niet veel afwist van deze festiviteit op Belgisch grondgebied, moet ik zeggen dat het een zeer aangename verassing was. De muziek was om van te watertanden! Ik heb begrepen dat dit festival in voorgaande jaren het Dranouter folk festival werd genoemd. Maar vanwege een bredere visie op muzikaal gebied is het verkort tot Dranouter festival. Dat folk hier de boventoon blijft voeren mag een feit zijn, maar een goed feit. Enig minpuntje vond ik enkele personeelsleden die niet erg vriendelijk waren, althans voor de Nederlandse bezoeker onder ons. Erg jammerlijk, en totaal overbodig. 

Maar goed terug naar het festival. Het terrein is van gemiddelde grote. Er staan circa 4 tenten waar verschillende muzikale wonders zijn te zien. Kayam is de grootste van deze, en bied vanaf 2 kanten zicht op het hoofdpodium. Achter dit podium bevind zich de clubstage. Deze tent is voorzien van allemaal banken, iets wat ik zelden heb gezien bij een festival. In deze tent gaan wij als eerste een kijkje nemen bij Johnny Flynn; vooral bekend als hoofdrolspeler van “Kruistocht in Spijkerbroek”. Dat deze jongeman ook een begenadigd folkzanger is, weten dan weer minder mensen. Johnny Flynn brengt zijn nummers ten gehore met alleen zijn stem en gitaar. Hij beheerst zijn instrument op behoorlijk niveau, en de nummers zitten goed in elkaar. Maar helaas weet hij de aandacht van de luisteraar niet vast te houden. Het geheel klinkt wat monotoon.


Hierna gaan wij een kijkje nemen in de megatent Kayam, hier speelt Lady Linn and her Magnificent Seven. Deze zeer talentvolle zangeres met haar geweldige zeven spat van het podium. De uit België afkomstige zangeres heeft een zeer aangenaam stemgeluid. Het heeft wat weg van Amy Winehouse, maar dan een tikkeltje hoger. Daarnaast heeft ze dan een dijk van een band: blazers, piano, contrabas, de hele rataplan wordt uit de kast gehaald. De muziek bevind zich vooral in de hoek van jazz, maar heeft het opzwepende van electropop. Een knappe combinatie van genres in een perfecte uitvoering. De cover “I don’t wanna dance” blijft uren laten nog door je hoofd galmen.


Na dit optreden speelt in dezelfde tent Balthazar . Deze uit Kortrijk komende band heeft een bijzonder eigenzinnig geluid. De muziek is dromerig, maar bevat wel stevige elementen. Deze band durft ook te experimenteren en dat pakt zeer goed uit. Na een halve dag op dit festival is voor mij al duidelijk dat België over de nodige goede bands beschikt.


Hierna spelen The Jayhawks, hun sound doet me wat denken aan Simon & Garfunkel. Muzikaal gezien zit het prima in elkaar, er is haast geen foutje te bespeuren. Toch mist deze band enige sprankeling en klinkt het als op de automatische piloot. Ik kan dan ook niet lang mijn aandacht vast houden en ga samen met mijn broer een ronde doen over het festivalterrein.


Uiteindelijk komen we weer uit in Kayam waar Grant Lee Buffalo inmiddels is begonnen. Deze band speelt een genre wat ik graag mag horen. Bovendien spelen ze ook nog eens de stevigste set die ik de hele dag heb gezien. Twee verfrissende feiten, één band. Deze heren maken folk met een noisy rocktintje en weten het goed te brengen. De set klinkt strak en de band is duidelijk goed op elkaar ingespeeld. Hierna lopen we naar de dranktent, maar ik wordt aangetrokken door de nabijgelegen tent waar de adembenemende Moddi inmiddels is begonnen aan zijn set. Met alleen een contrabas, gitaar en accordeon weet Moddi en zijn gastmuzikant iedereen mee te trekken in de muziek. Deze zeer atmosferische muziek wordt met zoveel compassie overgebracht dat ik er kippenvel van krijg. Zelfs als je Moddi accordeon ziet spelen voel je zijn liefde voor muziek. Zijn hele lijf wordt in de strijd gegooid tijdens het nummer “rubbles”. Hij voelt de muziek, en weet daardoor het publiek ademloos achter te laten tot de laatste noot. Niet verwonderlijk dat de producer van Björk en Kate Nash dolgraag met hem wilde samen werken. Deze beste Valgeir Sigursson mag zichzelf in de handen wrijven.  Wat een talentvol “menneke”.

Daarna was het racen naar Kayam voor de alom bekende Amy MacDonald. Deze uit Schotland afkomstige zangeres heeft inmiddels al 2 grote hits op haar naam staan. Na het optreden van Moddi moet ik even omschakelen naar de luchtigheid van haar sound. De nummers vallen vooral onder pop, maar hebben een groot folkgehalte. Dit laatste maakt haar speciaal. Amy begeleid zichzelf en de band de hele set op slaggitaar, best knap. De set klinkt strak, maar haast te gepolijst. Er is geen schoonheidsfoutje te bespeuren. Wel jammerlijk dat veel nummers diezelfde vorm van slaggitaar bevatten, waardoor het geheel erg op elkaar lijkt. 


Hierna is de afsluiter van de avond Rodrigo Y Gabriela. Wow wow wow!! Deze 2 gitaristen maken van Spaanse gitaarmuziek een totaal nieuwe ervaring. Ze mixen er allerlei nieuwe stijlen en technieken doorheen. Ik kon niets anders dan vol verwondering kijken. Bij voorbaat had ik niet gedacht dat 2 gitaristen in een grote tent als Kayam tot hun recht zouden komen. Spaanse gitaar lijkt mij meer wat voor in een intieme set. Maar deze 2 hebben het tegendeel meer dan bewezen! Binnen no time stond de halve tent mee te klappen en dansen. Helemaal geweldig. En toen Rodrigo een nummer van Oasis speelde zong de hele tent uit volle borst mee. Of je nu zelf gitaar speelt (dan kom je waarschijnlijk net als ik tot de conclusie dat je nog even moet oefenen) of dat je gewoon van muziek houdt, deze muzikanten zijn een wel heel bijzondere ervaring.

Wat een afsluiter, en wat een bijzonder festival. Het is jammer dat er niet meer festivals zijn gericht op folk en akoestisch, want er zitten werkelijk een paar juweeltjes tussen.

written by Taggi Eenstroom 


Alcatraz Metal Fest op 27 Augustus!

Op 27 augustus vindt in Deinze (Oost Vlaanderen – België) de derde editie plaats van het Alcatraz metal fest.

Deze keer is er naast een paar Duitse kleppers zoals headliner Helloween en U.D.O. vooral gekozen voor een greep uit de US Metal.

Zo staat Anacrusis daar geprogrammeerd en dat is een exclusieve Benelux show. Helstar beloofde om een ware old school set te brengen met enkel nummers van hun eerste vier albums.

 

 

Where Angels Suffer is een allegaartje van een hoop grote namen. Hierin zitten Chris Holmes en STet Howland (beide ex WASP), Ira Black (ex-Lizzy Borden, ex – Metal Church) en Steve Unger (ex- Metal Church). Ze beloven alvast een mengeling van songs te brengen van de band waarin ze gespeeld hebben, afgewisseld met eigen nummers.

Verder treffen we nog twee kleppers uit de thrash hoek op de affiche! Zo is er het herboren Forbidden  en de dodelijke heilige thrash van Death Angel.

De Noren van Communic zullen met hun progressief klinkende metal ook een hoop metalheads naar het podium lokken.

Zoals steeds wordt eigen talent ook de kans gegeven om zich te bewijzen! Deze keer valt de eer de beurt aan de gekende mannen van After All en de jongere bands zoals Emperors of Decay en Guilty As Charged. Het Nederlandse Izegrim sluit het rijtje van talent van eigen bodem af.

Meer info is te vinden op www.alcatrazmusic.be


LOVE.MIGHT.KILL – BRACE FOR IMPACT - MASSACRE RECORDS – OUT NOW

LOVE.MIGHT.KILL was founded in 2009 by Firewind / Uli Jon Roth / Metallium- drummer Michael Ehré. After touring all around the world with several bands, he realized his vision of an own band by recording and producing this album “Brace For Impact”. He found a co-writer in the Italian singer Jan Manenti, and when his long-time friends Christian Stöver and Stefan Ellerhorst (both guitarists from the German metal band Crossroads) and Jogi Sweers on bass joined the band,  the line-up was completed.

LOVE.MIGHT.KILL are:

  • Jan Manenti – vocals
  • Christian Stöver – guitars
  • Stefan Ellerhorst – guitars
  • Jogi Sweers – bass
  • Michael Ehré – drums 

BRACE FOR IMPACT

 

A Dokken riff (early albums – George Lynch era) kicks off this album. But soon, you’ll hear some soaring guitars. Jan Manenti has an awesome pair of pipes where the power drips off. Founding band member Michael Ehré gives us sublime and very varied drum work. “Tomorrow Never Comes” is a fine piece of power metal. The guitars and drums go full throttle during “Calm Before The Storm”. The vocals in the slightly more commercial sounding “Pretty Little Mess” are simply amazing and the axe work is finger licking good. “Caught In A Dream” forms a bridge to the early Dio material. Jan's voice is mainly responsible for this comparison! But the ultra-heavy riffs have also a big share in that metal bridge. The title track slowly builds up to the chorus and has an explosive guitar spot in the break. “We Are The Weak” has again those catchy Dokken riffs and there are even some keyboards in the background. The faster “Down To Nowhere” gives you a nice shot of adrenaline through your metal veins. The howling guitars in “Pray To Your God” made you wish that you didn’t throw away that inflatable pink Gibson Flying V (damn, how could I be that stupid!). “Reach Out” picks up that faster pace again and album closer “Will Love Remain” is a fine mixture of (again) howling guitars and pounding drums!

 Tracklist:

  1. Tomorrow Never Comes
  2. Calm Before The Storm
  3. Pretty Little Mess
  4. Caught In A Dream
  5. Through The Dawn
  6. Brace For Impact
  7. We Are The Weak
  8. Down To Nowhere
  9. Pray To Your God
  10. Reach Out
  11. The Answer
  12. Will Love Remain

Conclusion:
“Brace For Impact” is more than a great debut album. Great arrangements, Ehré's excellent drums, the furious guitars and, most of all, Jan's power voice makes this a must-buy for melodic power metal lovers. So fasten your seatbelt and brace for impact when you listen to this powerful album!

Links: 

WRITTEN BY: RIK BAUTERS

LIONVILLE - LIONVILLE - AVENUE OF ALLIES – OUT NOW

Lionville is new project dedicated to pure AOR. The project was initiated by Stefano Lionetti, a songwriter, singer and guitarist based in Genova, Italy. His team was soon upgraded by Pierpaolo Monti (Shining Line) and Alessandro Del Vecchio (Eden’s Curse, Edge of Forever). Their songs impressed Gregor Klee (Avenue of Allies' label manager) and with the help of Lars Säfsund (Work of Art, Enbound), they started working on a complete album. Stefano got the help from a lot of special guests, who contributed to the final album.

Lionville is:

  • Stefano Lionetti: lead & backing vocals, guitars 

With:

·        Lars Säfsund – lead & backing vocals

·        Alessandro Del Vecchio – keyboards & backing vocals

·        Pierpaolo Monti – drums & percussion

·        Mario Percudani – guitars

·        Andrea Maddalone – guitars

·        Anna Portalupi – bass

·        Amos Monti – bass

Very Special Guests:

·        Arabella Vitanc – lead & backing vocals on track 8

·        Erik Märtensson – backing vocals on track 4

·        Bruce Gaitsch – guitars on tracks 1,3,5,9,11

·        Tommy Denander – guitars on track 8

·        Sven Larsson – guitars on track 7,9


Headbanger's Concert Presents :

Album Details : DOMINANZ - As I Shine

Artist: DOMINANZ
Title: As I Shine
Country: Norway
Genre: Atmospheric Industrialized Metal
Release date: 19. August 2011
Distribution: Europe by Rock N Growl/Cargo Records - World by Rock N Growl

Atmospheric Industrialized Metal

Tracklisting:

01. Infinity
02. Agony and Domination
03. As I Shine
04. Eternal Sin
05. Abusos
06. The Philanthropic
07. Last Day Of Your Life
08. Man On Top
09. From Skin to Heart
10. The End Of All There Is

Credits:
Roy Nordaas - Vocal, Bass, Guitar, Synth (ex Cult of Deception)
Jørn Tunsberg - Guitar (Hades Almighty, ex Immortal, Old Funeral)
Frode Gaustad - Drums (ex Thy Grief)

Recorded and mixed at Conclave Studio by Bjørnar E. Nilsen and Roy Mathisen
Mastered at Earshot Studio by Herbrand Larsen

INFO:
As I Shine is the perfect blend of atmospheric black metal and engaging industrialized beats. There is also a dose of gothic, but the listeners will probably notice that Dominanz got their roots from the Old Norwegian black metal scene. The lyric deals with everything from depictions of erotic oppression, slavery and ways to dominate fellow man. The main theme is on the bleak and destructive…and living on the edge between life and death.

Video:



MAYAN - "WAR ON TERROR" VIDEO RELEASED

"War On Terror", the new video from the group MAYAN featuring EPICA guitarist/songwriter Mark Jansen alongside Jack Driessen (ex-AFTER FOREVER) and Frank Schiphorst, is available for viewing on YouTube.

 

 

 

 


Swedish sleaze and punk metallers SISTER announce European headlining shows in September!
Swedish sleaze and punk influenced metal band SISTER have announced headlining shows throughout Europe in September! Supports will be local. 

Lock your daughters and hide your wives, SISTER take no prisoners once they have passed the borders to your countys! 

SISTER
16/09/11 – CH – Uster – Rock City
17/09/11 – DE – Lichtenfels – Paunchy Cats
18/09/11 – IT – Bologna – Sottotetto Sound Club
20/09/11 – FR – St. Etienne – Thunderbird Lounge
21/09/11 – FR – Paris – La Mécanique Ondulatoire
22/09/11 – BE – Roselare – De Verlichte Geest
23/09/11 – BE – Arlon – t.b.a. 
24/09/11 – DE – Köln – t.b.a. 

Comments the band: "Finally after a spring/summer of recording and releasing the first collaboration with Metal Blade, our debut album HATED, its time for Sister to head down through Europe! This is what we have longed for the last year and all the work we have put into everything is pretty much the preperation of one thing. To hit the roads. we will tour as much as possible now with the album out and this tour together with the U.D.O-tour will be our first mark in Europe. There will be full-blown riots so take the chance to check us out when we come to your town!"


First ever PENTAGRAM DVD 'When The Screams Come' due August 26/29!

Doom Heavy Rock legends PENTAGRAM to return to Europe in October and December!

On the 26th/29th of August, Metal Blade Records will release the first ever PENTAGRAM DVD in the 40 year history of the band! 

'When The Screams Come' features a full PENTAGRAM show, recorded on May 30th, 2010 at the tail end of the Liebling / Griffin reunion dates at Sonar in Baltimore Maryland during Maryland Deathfest VIII! On top there´s an interview with singer Bobby Liebling! 

'When The Screams Come' track listing: 
1. Day Of Reckoning
2. Forever My Queen
3. Ask No More
4. Run My Course
5. You´re Lost, I´m Free
6. Review Your Choices
7. Relentless
8. All Your Sins
9. 20 Buck Spin
10. Sign Of The Wolf
11. When The Screams Come

Pre-order bundle including an exclusive T-Shirt available at EMP.

Doom Heavy Rock legends PENTAGRAM will return to Europe in October and December! The cult outfit lead by the one and only Bobby Liebling will play an exclusive show in Spain on the 8th of October. This show marks the first ever appearance of PENTAGRAM on Spanish soil! 

In December PENTAGRAM will return to Europe for shows in Finland, Sweden, the UK and the Netherlands. Spread the word! 

PENTAGRAM
08/10/11 – ES – Jerez – Serie Z Festival @ Sala Paul
02/12/11 – FI – Oulu – Club Teatria
03/12/11 – FI – Helsinki – Nosturi
05/12/11 – SE – Gothenburg – Truckstop Alaska
09/12/11 – UK – London – The Garage
10/12/11 – NL – Eindhoven – Speedfest 2011

PENTAGRAM, featuring the talents of Bobby Liebling, Victor Griffin, Greg Turley, and new drummer Albert Born, recently released their highly anticipated full-length album Last Rites via Metal Blade Records. Last Rites contains 11 new tracks of behemoth tunes that fans have been clamoring for since the last Liebling/Griffin masterpiece was released in 1994 (Be Forewarned). 

http://www.metalblade.com/pentagram/
http://www.myspace.com/thepentagramarchives
http://www.myspace.com/thedeathrowarchive 


French Black Metal collective GLORIOR BELLI premiere new track from The Great Southern Darkness! Pre-Orders now available at the band's official landing page!
French black metal collective, GLORIOR BELLI, are pleased to unveil the first single, "Secret Ride To Rebellion," off their upcoming new full-length, The Great Southern Darkness. Scheduled for a North America release on September 27, 2011 via Metal Blade Records, the record finds the band at their most ravaging.

Comments vocalist/guitarist Julien of the tune: "'Secret Ride To Rebellion' begins furiously with the right mix of blackened tremolos, catchy melodies and wicked words. Then slowly, the track reaches a frenzy point over the last minutes of dark incantations. Sorry pal, you've just been exposed to the black light and there's no return from there!"

Check out "Secret Ride To Rebellion," at the band's official landing page, where you will also find pre-order details, HERE.

The Great Southern Darkness features 11 tracks that magnify all the best elements of GLORIOR BELLI in a twisted, gritty, wholly unique way; dangerously violent and fast, yet simultaneously dark and swampy with all the Americana/stoner/blues elements the band has come to embrace. Formed in the suburbs of Paris during the close of 2002, what began as a noxious duo soon became an untamable beast, acting as a beacon for everyone looking to free themselves of the influence of the Demiurge. Lyrics and themes explored throughout the years reveal a sincere inclination for rebel-ism and a developed sense of poetry. Today, GLORIOR BELLI has garnered a stellar reputation in the extreme music community for mixing desert rock textures with the brutal, ominous, doom-laden vibe typical of black metal. But don't bother trying to restrain that which cannot be confined, for this is merely the greatest curse of the cosmic scheme.

Track listing The Great Southern Darkness
1. Dark Gnosis
2. Secret Ride To Rebellion
3. They Call Me Black Devil
4. Negative Incarnate
5. Bring Down The Cosmic Scheme
6. The Great Southern Darkness
7. The Foolhardy Venturer
8. Per Nox Regna
9. The Science Of Shifting
10. Chaos Manifested
11. Horns In My Pathway

GLORIOR BELLI is:
Julien: Vocals + Guitar
Gionata: Drums
Björn: Guitar
Davide: Bass

http://www.gloriorbelli.com
http://www.facebook.com/gloriorbelli
http://www.myspace.com/gloriorbell
http://www.metalblade.com/gloriorbelli 


VADER – New song posted online for streaming!

The Polish death metal legends VADER have just uploaded the brand-new track "Decapitated Saints".
This song comes from the bands upcoming album, the death metal highlight of the year 2011 “Welcome To The Morbid Reich”.

You can listen to this neck breaker on the official Vader facebook page: http://listn.to/Vadermusic
new album will be released on August, 12, 2011 via Nuclear Blast.

Also available:
Welcome To The Morbid Reich – Album Trailer: 


 

 


SEVEN – RELEASE VIDEO CLIP FOR ´NO SURRENDER´
Aspiring Czech Heavy Metal combo SEVEN has released the video clip for their song ´No Surrender´ on YouTube, which can be seen here:

 

In 2010 SEVEN were comissioned to compose a song for the Czech movie “Kajinek“, an action thriller biopic about Jiri Kajinek, who's considered to be the first Czech hitman in history. After several attempts of evasion from high security prisons, Kajinek has become the most famous prisoner in Czech Republic as well as one of the most guarded criminals in Europe. Controversy following his detention and imprisonment has raised a debate in Czech society about the efficiency of their judiciary system.

Inspired by such events, Seven composed and recorded ´No Surrender´, which eventually would become part of the official soundtrack for the film. Its videoclip, featuring scenes from the film, was used intensively during the promotion campaign of “Kajinek“. Just a week after the premiere, “Kajinek“ had become the biggest box office hit in Czech film history. Given the huge success of the film and the increasing popularity of their song, Seven decided to include ´No Surrender´ as a bonus track in their new studio album “Freedom Call“. The music video also appears as a bonus feature on the Czech DVD edition of “Kajinek“.

 

“Freedom Call“ already arises enthusiasm in the music press:

 

“Each and every song is thrilling!“ (Rock It! Magazine)

“Seven’s lively Melodic Metal is huge fun!“ (EMP)

 

The album will hit stores on the 2nd of September via Nuclear Blast! 

 

 


HUMAN ZOO – EYES OF A STRANGER - BOB-MEDIA - SONY MUSIC / FASTBALL – OUT NOW

In the year 2001 singer Thomas Seeburger, guitarist Ingolf Engler and keyboardplayer Zarko Mestrovic started their dream to bring pure rock. In 2005 the rest of the gang came aboard this German rockship and they released their first platter “Precious Time” in 2006. The second album “Over The Horizon” was released in September 2007. Now they completed their third album “Eyes of a Stranger”.

Human Zoo are:

  • Thomas Seeburger – vocals
  • Ingolf Engler – guitars
  • Zarko Mestrovic – keyboards
  • Markus Ratheiser – bass
  • Kevin Klimesch – drums
  • Boris Matakovic – saxophone

ALBUM DETAILS: Deadend In Venice – See You On The Ground

Artist: Deadend In Venice 
Title: See You On The Ground 
Country: Germany 
Genre: Melodic Death Metal 
Release date: Out now

Tracklisting:

01. Hate Sweet Hate

02. Personal Decay

03. Brain Execution

04. War

05. Long Way Home

06. Last Chances

07. The Monkey In My Closet

08. Dirty Little Princess

09. Tomorrow Never Comes

line- up:

Annabell Klein – Vocals

Christian Litzba – Growls

Tim Schmidtke – Guitars

Kevin Klein – Lead Guitars

Andreas Ackermann – Bass

Frank Koppe – Drums

Guests: Silas Hofmüller – Bass, Andreas Gemeinhardt – Guitar

Recorded, mixed and mastered by Andy Schmidt (Disillusion) at “Kick The Flame Studios”.

Video:


<